God's Word our Delight psalm 119:17-24

in #steemchurch6 years ago

17.Deal bountifully with Your servant, that I may live; and I will observe Your word [hearing, receiving, loving, and obeying it].(D)
18.Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of Your law.
19.I am a stranger and a temporary resident on the earth; hide not Your commandments from me.(E)
20.My heart is breaking with the longing that it has for Your ordinances and judgments at all times.
21.You rebuke the proud and arrogant, the accursed ones, who err and wander from Your commandments.
22.Take away from me reproach and contempt, for I keep Your testimonies.
23.Princes also sat and talked against me, but Your servant meditated on Your statutes.
24.Your testimonies also are my delight and my counselors.

The Psalmist here show us that we need to depend on God in the place of prayer to be able to understand God's word. He prays to God:“0pen my eyes that I may see wonderful things out of your law”. This is a sample prayer for believers today when approaching the Word of God.

image

The Psalmist shows a deeply seated and untamable passion for God's word in verse 20. If there is real desire in our hearts, the Lord will surely reveal himself to us when we prayerfully come to Him in the place of studying the Word.

This section of the 119th Psalm also reminds us that as Christians we are strangers here on earth. We need to be constantly reminded of that fact, for so often things around us may want to cause us to forget. Even people around us, in our Hostel, campuses, including lecturers scorn us, slander us, and hold us in contempt.

How does the Psalmist address this problem? He meditates on God's decrees, considers them his delight, and Views them as his counselors.

It will be a grave danger to assume that we know God‘s decrees! Spend time with God's Word in prayers, and meditation. As Christians it is our duty to learn the truths of God and apply them to our own lives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99