How Will Jehovah Remember You?

in #steemchurch6 years ago

Nehemiah 5:19; 13:14, 31
19 Do remember me favorably,* O my God, for all that I have done in behalf of this people.
13:14 Do remember me,+ O my God, concerning this, and do not wipe out my acts of loyal love that I have done for the house of my God and its services.
31 and arranged for the supply of the wood+ at appointed times and for the first ripe fruits.Do remember me favorably,* O my God.

Luke 23:42.
Then he said: “Jesus, remember me when you get into your Kingdom.
Do remember me favorably,* O my God.

“DO REMEMBER me, O my God.” A number of times Nehemiah petitioned God in those words. (Nehemiah 5:19; 13:14, 31) It is quite natural that when people are in dire straits, they turn to God with expressions of entreaty like that.
But what do people think when they ask God to remember them? Obviously, they hope that God can do more than just remember their names. No doubt they are hoping as well as one of the criminals executed next to Jesus. He begged in contrast to the other Jesus: "Remember me when you come to your kingdom." He wanted Jesus not only to remember who he was, but also to do something for him - to resurrect him (Luke 23:42).
The Bible consistently shows that "remembering" means positive actions in God. For example, after the earth had been flooded by the floods for 150 days, "God remembered Noah ... and God caused a wind to fall over the earth, and the waters began to sink" (Genesis 8: 1) ) Centuries later, Samson, blinded and chained by the Philistines, prayed, "Jehovah, think of me, please, and strengthen you, I, just this once." Jehovah remembered Samson by giving him superhuman strength for him to do could avenge God's enemies. (Judges 16: 28-30) As for Jehovah, Jehovah blessed his efforts, and in Jerusalem, true worship was restored.

"All the things that were written before were written for our instruction, that through our perseverance and through the comfort of Scripture, we could have hope," wrote the apostle Paul. (Romans 15: 4)

If we think of Jehovah by doing his will, as his faithful servants have done in the past, we can trust Jehovah to remind us by helping us to fulfill our daily needs by supporting us in our trials and redeeming us in bringing judgment on the wicked (Matthew 6:33); 2 Peter 2: 9.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68