But know the Lord has given me rest to me on all sides

in #steemchurch6 years ago

FB_IMG_15462837217474665.jpg
Facebook

  But now the Lord my God has 
  given rest to me on all sides. 


      (1 kings 5:1-7)

1 Hiram, the king of Tyre, also sent his servants to Solomon. For he heard that they had anointed him king in place of his father. Now Hiram had been a friend to David the entire time.

2 Then Solomon sent to Hiram, saying:

3 "You know the will of my father David, and that he was not able to build a house to the name of the Lord his God, because of the wars that were imminent all around him, until the Lord set them under the steps of his feet.

4 But now the Lord my God has given rest to me on all sides. And there is no adversary, nor occurrence of evil.

5 For this reason, I intend to build a temple to the name of the Lord my God, just as the Lord spoke to my father David, saying: Your son, whom I will set in your place, upon your throne, he himself shall build a house to my name.

6 Therefore, order that your servants may cut down for me cedars from Lebanon. And let my servants be with your servants. Then I will give to you, for the wages of your servants, whatever you will ask. For you know that there is not a man among my people who knows how to cut wood as well as the Sidonians."

7 Therefore, when Hiram had heard the words of Solomon, he rejoiced greatly, and he said, "Blessed be the Lord God this day, who gave to David a very wise son over this numerous people!"

(Catholic Bible version)
Many Christians in this world have not done anything for the sake of the most high God,they only ask God for blessings everyday , without doing anything to make the people around him/her know about our Creator.
Solomon did his by building a temple for the Lord , thereby making the gospel to reach everywhere in his kingdom and outside his kingdom .

Let us pray

Mighty king we thank you for your word this morning and we also thank you for making us know what is required from us as Christians ,we pray that you help us by giving us the grace to do what is required of us as Christians ,we pray and know that you will do it for us .Amen .

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86