Fasting and Prayer

in #steemchurch6 years ago


images (1).jpeg

I have found that fasting can be fraught with human failure and weakness. And lest you seek to elevate my journey above yours, let me begin with my own confession of weakness. “I thank God, I speak in tongues more than you all,” Paul said – such was his boast. My boast is “I have failed more fasts than you all.” I am a fasting-and-praying schizophrenic. “To fast or not to fast?” is my constant question.

I have often announced to my wife, “I am fasting today.” Once she responded with a little gracious cynicism, “What do you want for breakfast?”

Every time you set your face to fast, you are guaranteed to see some cosmic Law of Temptation and Attraction activated, which is why a beautiful pink box of doughnuts suddenly appears in your office. Before you fast, no doughnuts. After you decide – in fact, the moment you decide – boom, they appear! I cannot possibly count the number of times maple-glazed doughnuts have been my downfall.
images (2).jpeg

One time, about three days into a particular fast I had called others to commit to, I found myself facing impossible food cravings. So at home, glancing this way and that, (to make sure my wife was not looking), I quickly sneaked some yogurt and chips. Anything tastes good when you are fasting.

The next day, I was in our 24-hour house of prayer in Pasadena when a prophetic intercessor walked in. “I had a dream of you last night,” she said. “I saw you sitting where you are sitting right now.”

I thought to myself – this is awesome! God knows my address!

Then she said, “But in the dream, I was deeply disappointed with you, because you were supposed to be fasting, and instead you were eating yogurt and chips.”

Right now, you are probably either aghast or laughing hysterically. Perhaps the best response is to feel strangely consoled. As for me, I have pondered this story for years.

Was God teasing me, gently reminding me, in love, that His eye is on the sparrow…. and me? Or was he declaring, “Son, it is your calling to shift history with prayer and fasting – do not take My call lightly!” Maybe both are true, but I think the latter more important. Great things issue forth when God calls you to his own intercessions. God knew that I would speak and write about fasting and prayer; He was sobering me back to my purpose.

How are you doing at fasting? Remember - GOD LOVES YOU!

Sort:  

For it is prayer that moves montains away.... thanks for sharing this post with the @steemchurch Upvoted and resteem

The only weapon a Christian have is prayer and one spiritual soul strengthen through fasting. We must fast and pray to hear and be closer to God.

Wow what an amazing story you've told.
Fasting and prayer however is a sign that we are truly seeking God in earnest.
Jesus once told his disciples that there are some prayers that cannot be answered except by fasting.
and that's why sometimes fasting is essential with our prayers

Fasting and prayer is a great weapon to overpower your enemies and battle spiritually the forces of evil.

The more we are committed to fasting and prayers, the more we kill the natural body and renew our spiritual life and our walk with God.
Thanks for sharing this.

I can actually relate to those words temptations burst into you the moment you take a decision, fasting is a fight against the flesh, and he who controls the flesh must do everything he can to make sure that decision doesn't hold.

When we fast and pray in his name we are sure of getting blessed in every ramifications. He expects us to fast and pray without season. He is able to bless us as a result of what we do in life. We're uplifted spiritually when we fast and pray.

In time like this we all should fast and pray for the enemy is always around .
Jesus was a perfect example of someone who knows that the enemy would come and he resided to fast and pray and later the enemy the devil came to tempt him. He was able to overcome temptation due to the spirit of Gid and the world of truth in him
Christ has made us whole by letting himself die on the cross .
Fir us who are a called Christians we should imitate him and always fast and pray for the enemiy is always around.
When you fast and pray Gid draws nearer to you and makes you his friend forever .

Fasting and prayer is very important to every Christian because the Bible says By taking our eyes off the things of this world through prayer and biblical fasting, we can focus better on Christ. Matthew 6:16-18.... Thanks

Fasting and prayers can work miracles.
Jesus said,

This one goeth not away but by fasting and prayer

So give it a try.
Fast and pray.
Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50