Grace: Not a license to sin!

in #steemchurch6 years ago

What is a license?

image
Image credit

  • A legal document giving to an individual granting him permission to do something.
  • Freedom to deviate deliberately from normally applicable rules.
  • Excessive freedom, lack of restraint.

So is grace a license to sin?

Well, Grace gives freedom, no doubt about that, telling persons that:

  • God imputes righteousness without works.
  • God no longer imputes their sins and iniquities.
  • Jesus is made everything to them.
  • Jesus is able to save them to the uttermost.
  • Jesus is the advocate (lawyer: to defend his case) for any believer when he sins.
  • God cannot remember their sins and iniquities.

How can you tell me that the Blood of Jesus covered all (past, present and future) sins, and not expect me to go on sinning in view that the blood covers me if I sin?

How can you tell me that when I sin, Jesus speaks to the father on my behalf and not expect me to go on sinning?

How can you tell me that Jesus is my high priest and as such He represents me before the Father who then sees me as Jesus and expect me not to fornicate the next morning?

Let's be realistic?

How can you say i became righteous because I believed in Jesus and not because of my good works and not expect me to believe in Him while sinning about in my righteousness?

Okay, righteousness is by faith and not by works.Doesn't that mean that if i do evil works but still have faith, I am righteous?

Then you'll say Jesus is made into me sanctification.That i am holy because i believe nothing else?

Remember the definition of license? Are these teachings not giving me a legal right to sin joyously,sinning because Grace covers it all? In three words, "LICENSE TO SIN."

As beautiful as this license to sin thoughts are they are ungodly. And unscriptural, Jesus (Grace in person) didnt come to do anything but give us "TOTAL FREEDOM." For emphasis, I'll repeat, Jesus came to grant us TOTAL FREEDOM

image
Image credit

Follow me meticulously,

And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

-John 8:32

If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed

-John 8:36

That's not all, see what Paul said,

Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.

-Galatians 5:1

So,yes..the believer is free from unrighteousness, unholiness, recording of sins, lack of representation before the Father. He is free INDEED.

"Not free to sin but free to NOT sin!"

For, brethren, ye have been called unto liberty; only use not liberty for an occasion to the flesh, but by love serve one another.

-Galatians 5:13

  • The freesom received is to Love God and Love our neighbors.
  • The freedom received is to see how loving God is,and how we should love Him back with our all.

image
Image credit

GRACE IS NOT A LICENSE TO SIN BUT A LICENSE TO LOVE

Anyone who uses the message of Grace as an excuse to sin has an undisciplined mind and hasn't really come to an understanding of what the grace of God actually is. Grace is the end of sin, not a ticket to commit it.

For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men,
Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world.

-Titus 2:11-12

I will end on this note.

What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound?
God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?

-Romans 6:1-2

image
Image credit

I hope we do meditate on these words. Thanks for dropping by!

Sort:  

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Thanks for sharing, great scholar Efe. Hope to see more posts from you soon. 😊

Scholar nelson, I'm really grateful. Thanks for dropping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57378.99
ETH 3121.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24