LIFE 101 - Just BELIEVE

in #steemchurch6 years ago

I woke up this morning with a lot of thoughts going on in my head. I looked at my life and all the things I've been able to achieve since after my graduation. The truth is, things are not rosy, but believe me when I say I have achieved a lot these past years. I am not trying to blow my trumpet, but I am just here to let you know that your background does not define who you are. On several occasions, I've shared with everyone on this platform the story of my childhood and upbringing. There was a time, I never imagined obtaining a degree. And there was a time, it looked as if things will never get better. I hated my life and envied other kids, but then as I get older, I realized that your past does not define your future.

Oftentimes, people give up easily simply because they are from a poor home or physically challenged. They think being comfortable and happy in life is for a certain group of people. They look at others with their lands and gold thinking it will impossible for them to obtain certain heights in life. They let the past turn them into something that was never ordained for them. And they allow the troubles of this world to toss them around like a football. They give up even before trying and sit all day trying to figure out why they weren't created "Normal" as everyone else. Well, I know these things can truly get to someone's head, but only when you allow it. The world can be cruel to such individuals, but only when you're willing to accept pity.

There is nothing in this world that you cannot achieve if you put your mind to it. Yesterday, I watched a short clip of Cristiano Ronaldo, Rio Ferdinand, and Anderson. They were asked to name the world greatest footballer, while Ferdinand named Ronaldinho as the world best, Cristiano called himself world best, he was just a young player newly signed by Manchester United. The truth is, it's not all about where you are at the moment, but where you see yourself to be in the next few years. We all know the story of Cristiano Ronaldo. He came from a very poor home, but he believed in himself and worked so hard to dream his dreams into life. He knew he had all it takes to become the world best. I am not saying it's wrong to have mentors or aspire to be someone you admire, but you truly & deeply have to believe in yourself. Believing in yourself has nothing to do with your past. It has nothing to do with your background rather it has everything to do with YOU!

Unsplash.com

You have the power to become the person you've dreamed of all your life. You also have the power not to give up and keep pushing. You have the power not to accept self-pity and settle with something less. It is all in you. You don't actually need everyone to believe in you and you don't need the world to see the potentials in you. All you do is to let the self in you see the potentials that are laying somewhere inside of you. Now, it is just not OK to have self-believe, you have to be determined not to end the way others thought you would. It doesn't matter what your past says, it doesn't matter how hard you have tried, it still doesn't matter how many times you've failed, what matters is that you don't give up on your dreams.

Don't ever think it will be difficult to meet up with others. Remember, you're not in a competition with anyone. The world is a free lane where we can all drive the way we want as long as you drive safely and wisely. It's never too late to start off anything. Achieving your dreams has nothing to do with your age. Telling yourself that doesn't make any sense. Age is nothing but numbers even when they say a fool at forty is a fool forever. I'd say life begins at forty. The truth is, the world is not interested in your age rather they are more concerned with the things you've accomplished as a person. So, what am I saying this morning? All I am saying is that you have what it takes to conquer the world. You have the power to be you and make a name for yourself. Go out there and be yourself! Don't take no for an answer, and be ready to keep striving till you get to your final destination. Develop yourself and ideas cause believe me when I say most people are lazy to think of ideas. Try to invest in yourself and above all, be YOU!

Thank you for reading!!!

Image Source: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution, upvoted and resteemed.
AW.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62