The Calling

in #steemchurch6 years ago (edited)

Hello, my friends and brothers from Steemit. It has been a while since my last post. I have gone through a lot, but God is good at all times.
God bless you all.

Many times I have been asked why I decided to be a pastor at my age. (I am 28 years old, I have been a pastor for two years now.)
Actually I did not decide on my own, I was called by the mercy of God and I accepted it.
Through this portion of the Bible I want to make you understand with the help of the Holy Spirit, how God moves his pieces to make the specific call to every one of us.


Img Source

Luke 5 Modern English Version (MEV)
The Calling of the First Disciples
5 As the people pressed upon Him to hear the word of God, He stood by the Lake of Gennesaret 2 and saw two boats beside the lake. But the fishermen had gone out of them and were washing their nets. 3 He entered one of the boats, which was Simon’s, and asked him to thrust it out a little from the land. Then He sat down and taught the people from the boat.

4 When He had finished speaking, He said to Simon, “Launch out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch.”

5 Simon answered Him, “Master, we have worked all night and have caught nothing. But at Your word I will let down the net.”

6 When they had done this, they caught a great number of fish, and their net was tearing. 7 So they signaled to their partners in the other boat to come and help them. And they came and filled both boats, so that they began to sink.

8 When Simon Peter saw it, he fell down at Jesus’ knees, saying, “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord.” 9 For he and all who were with him were astonished at the catch of fish which they had taken, 10 and so were James and John, the sons of Zebedee, who were partners with Simon.

Then Jesus said to Simon, “Do not fear. From now on you will catch men.” 11 So when they had brought their boats to land, they left everything and followed Him.

The first thing we must understand is that we have an identity, unique and unrepeatable, this identity characterizes us in our lives, and that is exactly how Simon felt, he felt like a fisherman, for that he was born, he had learned it from his father, it was his habit. But in God things work in a different way, God changes our perspective when we meet him.

So when Simon returned from a frustrating night where he could not catch anything, he met Jesus, who needed a boat to preach his word, not just anyone, but Simon's, because it was setting the stage to show Simon his true identity. .

So it happens, what starts as a stormy and frustrating night by NOT FISHING anything, ends with an amazing miracle, a miraculous catch, but above all, a new identity.

In 2011 I received my degree as an engineer, it was my dream, my father's dream. But actually I did not feel that it was something special for me in the end, I thought it was something momentary, but until today I have the same feeling about that. Well, now I'm a young pastor serving God with my family and I can not imagine myself happier doing anything else.

When Simon lent his boat to Jesus and heard his word something woke up in him, a different feeling, the sense that there was something else for him. But Jesus, who knows our needs and anxieties, told Simon: "Launch out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch."

God knew what Simon needed, more than a good fishing, he needed to know his identity.
Sometimes the struggles come to make us understand who we really are and what we are made of.

There was a change in the story when Jesus entered the boat of simón, although he had doubts, he believed the word of Jesus and had a great fishing. "Master, we have worked all night and have caught nothing. But at Your word I will let down the net. "

The difference was not in the boat, nor in the experience of the sailors, but in that Jesus entered the boat. When Jesus enters our lives, what once seemed difficult or impossible begins to appear. Miracles, our needs, what we expected begins to happen!

The best part of the story is that Simon, after this experience with Jesus received his new identity, ** From now on you will catch men. ** What started as a frustrating night without fishing, ended with a special call to Simon to serve God.

Sometimes I have felt lost of my purpose, I have waited for the confirmation of what I am doing is really what God wants for me, I examine my motivations and the result of them, however I have understood that our call does not always arrive as Paul, with a bright light and a voice from heaven, sometimes comes after nights of frustration and many difficulties like Simon's, and in any case, the difference is made by Jesus entering our boat, believing in his word, and accepting the called that He has for our lives.

That was the purpose for Simon, while he was circling in the lake without being able to fish, Jesus was on the shore waiting to get into the boat.

We cannot afford to keep going around, we ha to meet Jesus so he can enter our boats and change our history forever.

Today I invite you to give Jesus the opportunity to change your life, give you a new identity and, above all, see him do incredible things through you. I guarantee that no matter how used this boat is, how old or broken it may be, no matter what has been said about it before or the reputation it has, Jesus wants to enter that boat to change its history .
Jesus is waiting for you on the shore.
God bless you all.

PS: Please, Keep in your prayers my country, Venezuela, we need them all more than ever.

If there is a mistake on my translation you can let me know, or help me to translate from spanish.

If you like this post remember:
Resteem, coment and upvote.
Stay blessed

Sort:  

You got a 3.16% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @alejandro12!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

i love you jesus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66