The Dealbreaker...

in #steembulls6 years ago

Bonjour! Steemians

I am an amateur writer and it has been two weeks since I joined Steemit and loving it already.

As they say, turning points come in life when expected least, held true for me. Puzzled and distressed quiet for some time, was introspecting and questioning God, “why haven’t you gifted me with some talent? Without realizing, I had to know myself first. Something made me write as soon as I heard about this platform and my writing journey started.
Women liberalization is my favorite topic. Despite being financially independent and playing multiple roles together, are we liberalized in true sense?

With this, here goes my next story: The Dealbreaker

The Dealbreaker.jpg

“You never have an answer; how could you hang up my call like this? Yelled Tina, as she was speed walking at the subway station. This was a September morning and Tina was on her way to work, while she just had an argument with George. Tina was furious and breathing fast, to calm her down, while speed walking on the station.

Tina would have nearly missed the last train today; luckily, she was able to board it. All because of this crazy man, she said to herself. It is an important day for Tina, as she will be meeting new clients today and would be discussing the business proposal with them.

Samantha noticed, Tina was quiet today and did not even reply to her greeting. She could sense that something was bothering her, though chose to remain quiet.

Samantha and Tina were there on time for the meeting. Daniel started with the presentation and started explaining all the graphs and curves; Tina was least interested as she was the one who has been working on it for over a month. Last night’s quarrel overpowered her thoughts again and she got lost figuring out all the whys and why meeeez.

So what do you want, Tina? Asked Daniel, and Tina replied, “Coffee”

Everyone had a good laugh at it, while Tina was able to cover it up, and said, “Alright, I am up for it”.
Daniel was able to catch it though. He arranged a coffee for her, that made Tina feel better; and she left for home. A tiny cent dropped from Tina’s purse as she took her earphones out. She picked it up and kept her in her hand until she boarded the train.

This tiny little cent made her recall the two cents of advice Maria had given her couple of days back and Tina started evaluating herself on those. Tina thought, firstly, I do not run after perfection anymore, and just do my best. Secondly, I have gone better in looking after work, home and family together. Despite being sleep deprived and overly stressed out, there is not a single word of appreciation from George.

Tina was upset because George has changed towards her since the time of passport renewal where she did not opt for George’s family name. He had turned revengeful towards Tina and it seemed, as if, he was constantly looking for ways to upset her. George had even stopped helping Tina with chores, leaving her to deal with everything on her own.

There was complete silence on the dinner table today, and it was only Sam, who was doing all the talking. Laughing, and jumping around. He got tired soon.

Tina took Sam to his room and read a storybook to him that made him sleep fast. As she came out of George’s room, Tina asked George, “Do you want to say something now, George?

George: Do not bug me, Tina. Just let me live peacefully.

Tina: What do you mean?

George: I mean, stop arguing.

Tina: Arguing, me… really? It is you George, who does not even respond to my questions. You are afraid of discussing things and then blame me that I am arguing. What is wrong with you?

George: Listen, I do not have time for your nonsense. You fail to be a good wife, a mother, and even at home.

Tina found George’s words harsh. She earlier thought of not replying, but now she wanted to give it back to George.
Tina; Listen carefully George, I am not going to accept just anything. I know I am doing very well when it comes to looking after Sam. I do everything, right from waking him up in the morning until he goes to bed, along with maintaining the house well and doing everything for you. You leave the house scattered. Even the dinner plate is still there.

George: It is your job to look after the house and do everything. I do not care you go to work or not, I want my house to be shining and organized all the time. How you do it, I do not care.

Tina: “I am not your slave”. Do you hear me, “I am not your slave”?

George: If you want to take it this way, then take it this way.

Tina: I think, It is better we part ways. I would be happy managing everything on my own, having my own independent identity. I am an independent woman and I will live with self-esteem.

George again had no words, or was he just ignoring this; only he knows.

Tina and George are not in talking terms since then.

Sort:  

Welcome on steemit buddy. You seem to have a lot of potential. :) The coffee scene in the story is beautiful.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Honey Chum from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @manya! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Sad it seems throughout the age that women are delegated as house-makers and dusters solely. It is the whole as my mother would say, "barefoot in the kitchen and pregnant." I believe a partnership takes two people working in harmony together. Equal give and take. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Know you are not alone in your wondering. Many women feel caged by society's expectations of their roles and ways. Aloft to the fact that in the very beginning it was women who ruled near and far. I hope you always hold love near your chest and never forget your worthiness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68035.11
ETH 3787.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63