Pelicans

in #steemblopomo5 years ago

Pelicans

This is a collection of some of my pelican photos. Most of them were taken in Florida and some in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. They are all Brown Pelican which are the most common pelican found along the seacoast

PelicanInFlight (2018_06_23 17_52_01 UTC).jpg.

Pelican capture fish by diving head first into the water, open their large bill and netting fish with the pouch under their bill.

Splashdown2 (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

This one has its pouch full of fish!

MouthfulOfFish.jpg

They are often seen fish with dolphins, feeding on the fish that are stirred up by the dolphin.

FishingTogether (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

Jumping in after fish along side of the pier.

Fish (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

A water takeoff

PelicanTakeOff.jpg

Grooming on a boat dock

PelicanItch.jpg

Four pelicans flying along the beach at sunrise,

FourPelicanSunrise.jpg

A flyby

FourPelicans.jpg

Pelican (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

This is entry #11 in #SteemBloPoMo challenge by our friend @traciyork


Div_1.png

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries for prints and products
of my photos and artwork on the following sites:

Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook
and on WEKU

Enjoy!

Roger


Div_2_Paws.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif









Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Stunning photography about the Pelican's daily habits, photo with dolphin capture really superb Roger.

Thank you for your comments Joan!

These are incredible pictures, @rwedegiscc! I am always trying to get good pictures of pelicans when I’m st the coast. It’s difficult! But yours are amazing.

Thank you for your comments! Usually early mornings or early evenings are good times to see them, because that's when they are actively fishing. During mid-day, you can find them resting on pilings.

Thanks very much for those tips! I live inland, but when I get to the ocean I am always on the lookout for them. I always just get my phone out (my only camera right now) just a bit too late when they have just soared past like fighter pilots in formation.

I have certainly missed my share of photos too!

Wow! Exceptional photography work here and the photos are all stunning!
Blessings!

Thank you for your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78