Taiwan- photo journal

in #steembloggers6 years ago (edited)

View from our balcony - Guesthouse Dulan

balcony 2.jpg

I have been living in Asia since 2011, although i did spend a year in Japan between 2006-7. For some reason Taiwan never really appealed to me as a place to visit. This was definitely naivety and ignorance on my part. I have visited most counties in the region since moving to Malaysia but I had never really researched Taiwan. I had seen a couple of films set in Taipei by Taiwanese Director Tsai Ming-liang, which I loved, but they didn't paint Taiwan as a holiday destination. Anyway, I have never been so wrong about a place and I would recommend Taiwan for so many reasons.

We flew into Taipei and I immediately sensed a difference from other places I had visited in SE Asia or Indochina. Taipei felt to me more like Hokkaido with it's wide boulevards and the distant mountains. It felt organised and ordered, somewhere between Japan and China, different than Ho Chi Minh or Phnom Penh, both of which I love in different ways.

Taipei

4G2A7578.jpg

Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall and Theatre and grounds

4G2A7622.jpg

4G2A7645-2.jpg

4G2A7670.jpg

Anyway, from Taipei we headed down the east coast toward Taroko National Park. Another thing I loved about Taiwan was the public transport system. Like most of Asia the transport was cheap, but in Taiwan it was efficient, punctual and easy to understand for foreigners (Europeans).

On the train

4G2A8238.jpg

We stopped at Xincheng for the night to explore Taroko gorge and the national park. This is where the raw beauty of Taiwan hits you in the solar plexus. The train ride down the east coast from Taipei to Taroko is breathtaking.

Waterfall.jpg

4G2A8146.jpg

After a night in Hualien, which wasn't the best town (sorry Hualien, it's all subjective and we had a lovely guest house) we got the train to Doulan. I have to say I loved Doulln, with the moutain range behind cascading down through the tropical jungle to the ocean's expanse in the crisp clear taiwanese azure light, it was magical.

Moonlight Cafe - Doulan

4G2A8462 copy.jpg

Our place in Doulan

4G2A8271.jpg

Doulan

tree.jpg

Doulan

4G2A8386.jpg

Doulan beach

4G2A8352.jpg

Anyway, after a few days we tore ourselves away and headed toward Kenting. A more 'famous' tourist town, Kenting was teaming with Chinese tourists when we got there. It had a great stretch of golden beach, but you aren't allowed to swim in the sea except for a small designated area. Not that it stopped us or the Chinese tourists.

Sunset at Kenting Beach.

4G2A8628.jpg

Kenting has night markets along the main road through the town. It's a bit of a pain because it's so busy with tourists and the traffic keeps coming and there isn't much space to move. But it is interesting nevertheless.

Kenting

4G2A8649.jpg

4G2A8651.jpg

4G2A8648.jpg

4G2A8653.jpg

The final leg of our trip took us to Kaohsiung. I have to say this city was a real surprise. Like Taipei it was open and expansive as well as clean and modern. There was a real feeling of a young city with a vibrant arts and cultural scene.

Kaohsiung

4G2A7820.jpg

4G2A7912.jpg

4G2A7914.jpg

Sorry, I ran out of words. We were only in Taiwan for a couple of weeks as tourists, but you get a feel for a place. It was easy to get around on public transport. The people were cool in the sense that they were friendly but not in your face. The landscapes and nature was fantastic yet it felt environmentally friendly and balanced. In fact don't go... don't spoil it.

Sort:  

I have never researched Taiwan either but when I got there I was pleasantly surprised! I love how efficient Taiwan is. The public transportation is top-notch, the people too. It resembles Japan in so many ways and I love how you could just go anywhere cash-less (just use the yoyo card!)

Yeah... I really loved it. So easy to get about.

Congratulations @gerryfoxdigital! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49