STEEMBET – Clinton vs Trump

in #steembets8 years ago (edited)

Image Credit

 Hi fellow Steemers! This post introduces a new project, enabling everybody to place bets on events by using their voting power, and opens the first official bet: Clinton vs Trump.

Basic idea: upvote the winning outcome and you will be powered up! 

 The participation rules are very simple:  

For each bet, we publish a post explaining what the bet is about. It could be a sports event, or other. 

In order to participate, first you upvote the post itself. Then, you upvote one and only one of our comments, namely the one stating your forecast, (in today's case: “Clinton next US President”, or “Trump next US President”, or “Neither of the above next US President”. See below). 

Participation to this bet is open until the post gets locked, i.e. 30 days after publication, under current rules.

Once the post is locked,  100% of the SBDs and liquid STEEM (if any) earned by the post constitute the jackpot. Earnings arising from the comments are retained by us.

Jackpot funds (SBD+STEEM) will be first transferred to the @steembets account. Then, the SBD part of the jackpot will be converted into STEEM using the internal conversion mechanism, which will take 7 days. At that point, we will have a STEEM-only jackpot, which will be split in equal parts among bet winners, once the official result of the event is known. 

The STEEM jackpot will then be used to power up qualifying winning accounts.   

In order to qualify for winnings, you must have at least a reputation of 35 at the time of distribution.    

A STEEMBET is a fun way to redistribute SP across the community, as participating whales will contribute to the jackpot more than minnows through their upvotes, while claiming the same wins.  

By the way…If you are a generous whale and simply want to contribute to the jackpot without betting, you are welcome to place an INVALID BET…by upvoting the main post only, or both Clinton and Trump as winners :-)  

Today you can bet on the outcome on the next US Presidential Election. 

To do this, upvote this post and one of the comments below, corresponding to your forecast. 

Please follow me and resteem this post if you like the idea :-)

IMPORTANT - if you feel the urge to downvote this post, for whatever reason, please read this first  :-)   

Image credits for pictures in the comments Trump Clinton: Photo by Gage Skidmore Question Mark

Sort:  

Hi there, I'm sorry I had to flag this. We launched a Clinton vs Trump debate a few hours ago, then your post shows up with a similar theme and with a similar way of using comments to participate, same reputation entry limits and also using the powerup method like we are.

We are all for powering up the community but the way this seems so opportunistic isn't right, if you had done it on another day or did a bet on a different topic it wouldn't be much of a problem, it just looks like you are trying to steal our thunder today and isn't nice.

I don't believe you have a copyright on the idea. Particularly, since you can easily go back and look on the blockchain, and see that @claudiop63 can claim prior art with respect to initiating an idea.

Even though the game rules are fundamentally the same minus the reward payout that doesn't even necessarily mean there is any infringement or copycat'ing happening. It's such a simple concept and the natural choice for any type of multiple choice type option. And the reputation limit is also a natural choice to combat sybil.

I think the flag is disingenuous.

Agreed. Also, copyright does not imply ownership of an idea. A copyright means that people shouldn't copy/paste your exact content. It has nothing to do with ownership of an idea or process of running a game.

Hi @complexring, I respect you very much and value you opinion. Can you explain the "prior art" since the historical post was deleted and changed?

I understand the game rules are fundamentally the same, which is what I was saying, however furthermore the same theme was used...Trump and Hillary on the same day we posted, so you can understand how it looks.

I explained above that with the billboards we always had people trying to steal our thunder on the post launch day, so already am a bit jaded. I mean why the same game rules, the same political theme and posting a few hours after. I mean there are so many topics that one could make a game out of, why so similar to ours on the same day? I can't get my mind around it.

Nothing is deleted from the blockchain. You can find the original posting that was made prior to the edit after the initial flag. As @claudiop63 says, he paid for and promoted post and once it became flagged he decided to change the post so as to not waste the SBD he paid for the promoted space.

With respect to Trump / Clinton, you can see that 2 days ago, @claudiop63 gives precisely this example -- which, if you note how the blockchain records the timestamp, is before your post on the Clinton / Trump debate bets.

If anything, he can claim that your Clinton / Trump debate bets is a derivative of his election bet, but I do not see him making such a claim.

To me, it appears that @claudiop63 attempted an idea and that someone considered the idea 'vote buying', flagged him, and and then stopped the project and idea. But, then you tried it some amount of time later, and you managed to find support. As such, he is questioning why this is the case.

However, I do not think that either you or him are being malicious and that you are both honest actors.

Hi @complexring, thank you for the clarity. You will see that my writer, Theo Goodman also writes avidly about the Clinton vs Trump saga in his Reddit blog https://www.reddit.com/user/theo-goodman/ as can be seen a month ago or so.

Seems like the whole thing was a crazy co-incidence, I can understand how claudiop feels having his project shot down the first time, I wish he had contacted me in chat though, I think this would have been so much different then.

I am thinking calmly now, and I can definitely agree that both ideas are meant to empower the community, which is my goal, Claudio is actually helping see that through. Thank you for identifying us both as honest actors @complexring.

Claudio, please contact me in chat sometime (thecryptodrive), hopefully we can start afresh and discuss how we can help the community together.

I'm going to attempt to cancel my downvotes now.

Hi. Thanks for re-considering your position. I'll get in touch asap.

Would you please read the post linked below? I launched this idea one month ago....Incidentally, I was not aware you launched Clinton vs Trump today. I did it one month ago, then got flagged and withdrew it. I mentioned all this yesterday in my post below. https://steemit.com/steembets/@claudiop63/my-steembets-project-was-flagged-for-vote-buying-i-withdrew-it-then-a-very-similar-project-emerged-and-it-was-not-flagged-at-all

Sure I will read it, but regardless why would you launch a trump vs hillary on the same day as us? Looks like you are trying to poach our voters? That's the way it looks, but I will read your link.

He's been talking about this for a while. No one owns an idea like this either. It is a coincidence that he's posting it today - he has been asking for community feedback for a while and is probably not even aware that your campaign launched today. Not everything is a conspiracy against you. I am disappointed to see that you would flag his post as opposed to simply ignoring it. I think you should remove your flags and apologize.

Hi there, I appreciate your comment. Regarding the owning of the idea, we did place a copyright on the text of every post. I'm not so sure about today being a co-incidence, I also run the @steemdrive billboard campaigns and everytime we post, a few other billboard posts crop up to try and feed off the hype, I even believed one guy who said he had thought of the idea a week earlier but I beat him to it, since I knew him from chat I believed what he said and I accepted that he posted 2 hours after me.

I even helped him get more votes from a few whales, his post made over 6000$ mostly from my efforts, and he never put up the billboard. He claimed he powered down to steem then the steem price dropped, the last i heard there were potential health issues etc, we are over 2 months down the line and the billboard has not appeared and only empty promises. If his billboard doesn't happen it basically means, I unknowingly helped him defraud the community because I was too trusting.

Furthermore, @claudiop63's post is missing from history, it has been replaced, so there is no proof of its content, unless someone knows how to interrogate the blockchain and find the previous version. I mean someone could create a generic post and delete it and use it at any time in future to claim they did it first.

The use of the 35 reputation excatly like us is also very strange, so is the power up idea and the 7 day internal powerdown. All exactly the same.

Copyright does not imply ownership of an idea. A copyright means that people shouldn't copy/paste your exact content. It has nothing to do with ownership of an idea or process of running a game. You are also bringing up arguments that seem to have nothing to do with @claudiop63. The fact that you continue to think he is running some kind of conspiracy campaign to compete with your initiative is uncalled for. Flagging and infighting by people with similar interests is not what this community needs.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Copyright

Copyright is a legal right created by the law of a country that grants the creator of an original work exclusive rights for its use and distribution. This is usually only for a limited time. The exclusive rights are not absolute but limited by limitations and exceptions to copyright law, including fair use. A major limitation on copyright is that copyright protects only the original expression of ideas, and not the underlying ideas themselves.[1][2]

Then there's this:

Copyrights are considered territorial rights, which means that they do not extend beyond the territory of a specific jurisdiction. While many aspects of national copyright laws have been standardized through international copyright agreements, copyright laws vary by country.[5]

That's how I see it too. Also, @claudiop63, you understand you won't be able to pay this out until November 5th? People tend to not want to wait a long time to get paid.

I do understand it, yes. Everybody here does, I believe. Once again: I did launch this bet one month ago (see my link above), then got flagged and withdrew it. So, for sure, I did not take the idea from @steemsports....

Thank you for reply, but how can we see the original text, the link above doesn't show the original post before you changed it? You understand why it is difficult to believe. And why didn't you just make contact with me in chat and discuss it, present me your information, instead of posting on the same day as us and perhaps hoping we wouldn't see it?

And by the way, concerning your suggestion that I could possibly "keep the funds once everyone has forgotten", which is an insult (I won't ever bother to flag because the whole thing is childish): if you read my introduceyourself post you might possibly realize that I am not a crook https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@claudiop63/portrait-of-an-innovation-addict-my-journey-from-quantum-chromodynamics-to-cryptos-going-through-cern-and-lots-of-other-places

Dear Claudio, I have removed that section of my comment, you seem to be here a fair time in the community. However the rest of the coincidence is really strange, writing a post 2 days ago about our idea and saying you had the same idea, posting today with a similar theme, exact reputation requirement and powerdown method, is much too similar. As I sad the proper was would have been to come to me in chat and discuss the matter instead of how this was approached. The links to steemit.chat are in all the posts.

I have no problem in explaining fully the "coincidence": when I saw that your project was not being downvoted, while mine had been crushed a few weeks earlier, I thought : "What the hell! It's the same idea, so if they can do it, I can do it too...or none of us. So, let's write a post and ask the community whether it's a green or a red flag". So, the launch of your project did trigger my decision to go back to my old idea, which I had archived. In this sense, I am grateful that you launched yours and, again, I did praise the way you presented it. To be 100% transparent, I can add that my original idea in the first post was based on SBD rewards, but later on I realized that SBD--> SP was a better idea. same for the minimum status requirement, to mitigate bot winnings. There are no coincidences, other than the fact that I was not aware of your Clinton/Trump-related post today.

This is a reply to your reply below (we cannot go 7 levels deep...) 1) I am not a blockchain expert, but I would have thought that the original text of a post before edits is stored somewhere and retrievable. The original text in my post was launching the Clinton vs Trump bet, offering SBDs as rewards. 2) I don't see why I should have made contact with you, to be honest. However, in the post I published two days ago where I asked for community feedback on the "vote buying" issue (which I understand you have just read), I did mention (and even praised) your project... 3) I was not aware that you were launching your post today. Regardless, your post is not a bet on the election outcome, so we are not even competing directly. ..

Yes sure, but if you say your original post was to offer SBD rewards, why did you change it to exactly copy our way of doing the payout, and our reputation entry requirements? Granted the election is not the same thing as the debate, but the actors are the same and the theme is very close for comfort.

Do you think your SP payout rule is worth a patent? :-) Sorry for being ironical, but...
Indeed, SP rewards is the right thing to do, especially at the moment. I realized this on my own some time ago, but even if I had taken that from you....so what? If you want, I can give you credit for that. Still, I don't think that would grant you a monopoly on the market...

You have been here on Steemit a while, and you should know that the community is not a fan of plagiarised content, even the images we paste should have references to the source, we have the @steemcleaners who look for and detect this sort of thing, people taking credit for other people's ideas. It wasn't only the SP, but the Reputation entry score, the 7 day power down, the equal payment, you might as well have taken our entire post and pasted it here.

So that is why you can imagine before seeing your intro post someone would think that you were out to copy an author and defraud the community. I don't think that anymore seeing your intro post and how many posts you have done over time, but I am not convinced your intentions towards our project were entirely noble.

The 7-day conversion is a built-in feature. ..neither of us can claim credit for it. ..

I don't know what to add at this point. And I don't understand your sentence about noble intentions. It just sounds inappropriate to me. Never mind.

What? No one is voting for this foul corrupt harpy?

HOW SURPRISING!

Trump is a moron and an utter asshole. is he really going to win this?

Trump is vulgar and not as well informed as I would like (Vulgar doesn't really bother me, but I understand that some people can't deal with being "offended")

OTOH, he is nowhere near as corrupt and dishonest as clinton,and I think he loves this country, which is a certainty that clinton does not. "What difference does it make?" is NOT the statement of someone that gives a shit.

Trump is basically a NY liberal with 2 or 3 populist positions; he is not tied in to either leftist or globalist networks as clinton is. clinton has been in a major player in the leftist/globalist/islamist agenda...her selling of this nation's policy to Russia, China, and Saudi Arabia while SOS is publicly available proof of this.

Even if you believe the "we are going to make the poor rich by making the rich poor" nonsense of the democrats ( and see Detroit, Cleveland, Chicago, California, etcetc for an example of the democrats' policy "success"), you would still have to be insane to think that clinton would be the one to carry that out...see the Clinton Foundation's actions in Haiti as witness to that.

Hehe, my thought too. Hoping everyone else bets on Trump.

Hillary is going to win because the entire election is a complete sham. I called this one months ago. Trump is only running to help her win. See my video on this...

NEITHER OF THE ABOVE NEXT PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES

VOTE FOR NONE OF THE ABOVE!


I believe we really NEED this new interface for prediction market in Steem like Augur...
i met the Augur dev/founder yesterday in Tokyo i could see the demo of augur and its quite
if you guys crypto&claudio can discuss it more clearly i would be able to help somehow

Hi ekitcho, thanks for your message. This still me (steemsports) writing as my main account @thecryptodrive, yes that was part of the idea, to help Steem compete with Augur, all the tools are already there. To have a dedicated front-end for sports enthusiasts I think would be a massive advantage, although to the external market it may be necessary to pay out in SBD? Would be great if we could discuss this in chat and try take sports and prediction markets further.

Hi. I am also interested in discussing this...

I predict that the election will be suspended

I believe the same.

Economic crisis or false flag.

I hope the election would be suspended ! I would not vote for one or the other. I believe Hillery will make it though. Its a plan for many years IMO.
IT IS A TOTAL DISASTER that Americans have to decide in-between those 2.

there are less real leaders that are trying to change the world for the better
And more small politicians that all they are after is power and money. no integrity in their circles

i think trump (not up to me - i'm against them all)

Have you looked at Predictit.org ? Very mature and authorized under US govt regulations for political prediction markets

Upvoted. My bet is that the winner will be: Clinton

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43