MY EXPERIENCE AS AN ACCIDENTAL JOURNALIST

in #steembees6 years ago (edited)

midsection-of-journalist-holding-microphones-while-writing-on-note-pad-878027776-5ae3885e04d1cf003cf1fce5.jpg

image source

Have always thought of how easy journalism is, the only thing I fear about the occupation is the risk associated with it. I might not be really conversant with the news but have heard about many loses in the course of someone trying to be patriotic and having fidelity towards what he does. Well, I found myself by accident in that very position today, excluding the risk part. What an intresting day it was. Going out and acting as a journalist wasn't what I woke up today thinking about, thought of it as a normal day until my sister's husband's phone rang and a meeting was scheduled to hold, it was a press conference which should have held a day before but was postponed. Without thinking twice, he told me to follow him and that's how the day began.

A walk that's meant to take at least 8 minutes, we walked it in 3 minutes, we were trying to make up the lost time and trying not to miss out. Getting to the junction, we took an instant bike to the party Secretariat where the meeting is being held. Have never been in the same room with any dignitary before,today was the day. I kept on leaping my neck just to have a glance at the speaker as he reads from a piece of paper which was later shared to us as well about PLANS OF ELECTORAL MALPRACTICE which was specifically directed towards PDP. By now, you should have known which party secretariat I attended. It was the APC party Secretariat. I read along with him from the paper and he was done shortly afterwards.

When the chairman finished with the presentation, journalist were given the go ahead to ask some questions and a maximum of 5 questions was permitted. A man stood up and questioned the speaker as to why the paper from which he gave his speech wasn't signed, I wondered what relevance a signature on a piece of paper has. Well, am not really a journalist so I wouldn't know about such thing. Many other asked questions about the speech the speaker gave including the direct allegation against the PDP using corp member as an instrument to commit malpractice and why APC didn't tackle the issue when they became aware of the incident. The speaker's reply was shaky and I sensed that, but all well and good, he said "they did it as a precautionary idea against future occurrence which they want to eliminate in the coming election". More than the required 5 questions was asked anyways. The meeting ended shortly after that.

Are you probably thinking why I was there in the first place?. I was told to represent a media blog [Freshvibe News]. The owner couldn't make it so I was told to put on his shoes and I obliged. After the meeting ended, an attendance was taken I submitted my name as well as the media house I represent. After that, we were addressed by the party director who then ask some questions about where the news will be available and I answered "Online sir", he looked at me and said " make sure I see the news o". I noded with intention as a sign of "Yes sir". We were then compensated in advance for the news to be posted in each of our fellow means of communication. Of course 'we', I wasn't the only one there. There were about 26 other media reps as well including " CHANNELS TV" representative. Shortly after that, we left and I came home directly.

On getting home, I realised I haven't even had my bath, I thought of going straight to the bathroom to freshen up but I couldn't. I had to write what we were given in paper and turn it into a soft copy. It took me 7 minutes, am kind of fast when it comes to typing on phones. After doing that, I sent it to him and gave him a call to tell him I was done. After that, I freshen up and I decided to have a nap until my phone woke me up. I rushed to pick it, as I dropped the call, I thought to myself "the day isn't over after all".

Who called?. Bro fatai did. The one who told me type for him. He told me to come to someplace have never been before and represent someone. I told him to give me some minutes and I went straight to the bathroom to shower again, I had to release the stress on my face as the sleep was in effect. Got out of the house and went straight to the junction. On getting there, I gave him a call and he gave me the discription of where am to come. I asked so many people for direction and they all gave me the same reply " have never heard of the place ". A location where I know nobody. Well as a man, I locked up and kept going, then my phone rent and asked me where I was, I told him and luckily he waved from a far and I rushed to meet him. I didn't get lost after all.

When I got to him, he told me I'll be representing someone. I smiled and said no problem. He gave me the name of the media house and I said I'll take care of it. As I entered the room, I met two other reps. After waiting for about an hour, the person we were waiting for later came, as the introduced himself with an handshake. He told me who am representing and I replied " Insight link sir". He then turned to brother Fatai and told me "make sure I see the link and give him my WhatsApp number". When I'll won't be writing anything, it's not my firm after all, I replied him with both verbal and non-verbal language at the same time. I nodes and said YES SIR!. He glanced at me again and I smiled back. I was surprised he didn't give anything like a paper containing the news to be uploaded. He only said " I must see the link". When he left, I headed home. And that's how my 'Journalist by accident adventure ended'.

When I got home, I was really tired and stressed out. Remember I was sleeping when I phone woke me. This isn't easy I said. I imagined doing the same thing everyday and now I can give kudos to those news men and women. You might think this is not a stressful experience but, you didn't live the day, I did. What I experienced was just a tip of what each of the prominent journalist go through everyday. Some even go to far distance and had to return the same day without resting for a minute, they have to write a report about where they went through. It's not easy being a journalist and I the same time, I can say "IT WAS FUN". The fact that I was able to sit at the table with a dignitary is a thing to remember. Now I know what a press conference really is and I now have little idea about writing a report. I learnt something after all. It was a great day.

That's how my day went
i got to say it was a hell of a day !

Sort:  

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77