COSTLY GENERALIZATIONS - The Fault in our Judgement!

in #steembees6 years ago (edited)

happy-new-year-2914891__480.png
Good Men Exist: Source

I can still recall in the early part of the year 2000 before my great grand mother passed on, she was always find of advising me against wrong relationships and associations that could stain my name, she always maintained just like the Christian Bible says that a good name is better than riches. To further buttress this she would always make one important assertion:

Since the dog eats flesh, everyone accuses it whenever the meat gets missing. No one remembers that the cat eats flesh too.

The above proverb is so true in the case of how society sees her men or male folks. The negative attitude of men who had come before us in various aspects of human existence is the reason men are thought to be scum.

The following are various definitions of the word Scum:

1• Anyone who contributes nothing to our society, save for crime, disease and misery.
Source

2• A very bad or immoral person or group of people:
Source

These definitions reflect the negative extremity of the word scum. A young lady who was raped at the age of 9 will never believe men could be anything less than scum, she grows into a state of being over suspicious of even good intentions of people.

abuse-2947090__480.jpg
Photo Illustrating an Abused Woman Advised to keep Quiet

How about the cheating man who renders the faithful woman completely traumatized after exhausting her sexually, emotionally, psychologically, financially and sometimes spiritually.

In 2015 I once met a girl who was into lesbianism, we got very close and one day she told me that her reason for being a lesbian was that men were liars,cheats, useless, wicked and heartless. I think scum would serve as a more appropriate word to house her anger that day.

I would not want to talk about the lecturer whose area of specialty includes molestation of females sexually for marks in higher institutions . Few years ago, a supposed "Reverend" destroyed a marriage Union through manipulations and deceit. This still leads to more people erroneously generalizing that all men are bad.

There are various deviations that can comfortably debunk this unhealthy generalization that men are scum. The safe thing to say would be "Some men are scum."
One of the deviations is the story I wrote on my blog few days ago which can be read here. The blog post mentioned various instances where women molested men physically, killing them in the process.

Personally, I have a story I don't love sharing, partly because it's really not too palatable to the ears. However, it's important you know this too. In my primary school stages, mom had a female house help who was many years older than me.

She would always lock me inside the house to sleep while she would come in with me, age exposed me to sexuality at a very early stage. Please don't ask me if I enjoyed the sex in anyway oo, it's really not what I can answer. The main idea here however is the fact that she exposed me to what I never knew at such age.

How about the female Youth Service Corps member in my JSS1 who taught me English and took advantage of me as her class perfect, telling me how intelligent I was. Did this make me say all women were bad? No!

I would go on and on but it's important for us to know recall in the Christian theology, the tree of the knowledge of good and evil which God had banned the man and his wife from eating was jointly eaten by both man and wife and not the man alone.

Why then do we castigate men as being scums when in actual sense it's a pluralistic society?
It becomes like the saying says, that some condemn others for sinning differently from them.

Yes, a few male folks could have stained the integrity of men by being bad eggs in the society, but why generalize?

The next time you want to make such loose statements about men, simply ask the questions : "Is my dad a man? Is he a scum ? If your answer is no, then why castigate men thus?

cry-1580550__480.jpg
Save The Man: Source

Thank you @steembees
Thank you @ewuoso
I am @ambdavid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46