You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income - Visualizing our Upvotes to Members

Not sure what you mean by triangular?

@dynamicrypto has 443 shares. Each pool is capped at 100 shares per member, so they are spread across 5 pools.

Sort:  

I'm honestly not even sure what I meant with triangular, I guess a circle would be the better description here. But that's not my point... I guess I just always feel a bit triggered when I see those paid-participation-things.

Now, don't get me wrong, I am a great fan of the UBI idea in general and what you are doing here might well be an awesome initiative, I was "sponsored" with a share from a friend an that's how I learned about it.

@dynamiccrypto's huge share of upvotes naturally caught my attention immediatly, thanks for laying out how that comes together.

I'll look into this some more when I have the time, I might even purchase some more SBI shares for some friends of mine, everyone like more upvotes, so that's kind of cool :D

But isn't the whole share model also kind of just a clean way of 50/50 self-voting?! I mean, that's still better and a lot more resilient than plain old paid upvotes or open self-voting, but in the end it feels more like a paid upvote subscription or support network than an actual "basic income" to me?!

Which raises another question: Is it compliant with your service if I bought a share and sponsored my own @googlyeyes-contest-account?! And in the light of that, do you try to prevent the use of your service with alt-accounts and exclusively self-interest-driven voting rings?

Please don't get me wrong, I am not trying to be offensive, I am just curious!! Just like paid upvotes or other subscription services, i don't see any problems with the services themselves, as long as they come with a responsible prevention and monitoring for abuse to be in line with the whole "proof-of-brain" idea.

The share model is the first iteration of the experiment, so that it can be self-funding. Once we complete our automation project, we will be moving into the next iteration, where we will be introducing more features that everyone benefits from (independent of the share model), along with an account that rewards community engagement.

It's fine for you to sponsor your own contest account. We expect members to have some self-interest, so we have designed the program to harness that self-interest and use it to create a sustainable base for our future initiatives in supporting community engagement.

Sounds intriguing. I'll definitely check it out in more detail.

Thanks for the feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63