Steem Basic Income: My Journey and Future Goals

What is Steem Basic Income (SBI)?

You can check out what SBI is and how it works In their post

My SBI Journey

I was a little hesitant about SBI when I first head about it. It seemed a little risky to send of STEEM (around $4 when I started). The idea of giving someone control over STEEM with the promise of lifetime upvotes seemed a bit sketchy to be honest. I read plenty of posts and got comfortable with the math. Assuming flat STEEM prices, if you buy one share of SBI and post daily, it should take about 90 days to break even.

I decided to jump in with my first shares of SBI by trading silver for shares. You can see my oringal post about the trade here.

It was a pretty fair deal for both of us. If SBI worked out @nateonsteemit effetivly got free silver and I get free up votes for life.

There are still risks with SBI - you don’t own or control your STEEM and have little recourse if it all stops working tomorrow. My biggest concern is actually making sure they have a good succession plan in place if anything happened to the key holders.

After getting a taste of my first shares I quickly wanted to grow my SBI balance and have gotten shares using several different methods. Here is how I got them

My 64 Total Shares of SBI

DateMethodUserCostSharesRunning Total
4.27.18TradeNateonsteemit1oz silver66
5.8.18ExchangeNateonsteemit1319
5.8.18ExchangeSenstless13 STEEM1332
6.30.18Wontbnfl4sun133
7.2.18WonElleok134
7.15.18ExchangeNateonsteemit1246
7.15.18ExchangeSenstless12 STEEM1258
7.15.18GiftNateonsteemit159
7.15.18Earnedchronocrypto160
8.1.18Earnedchronocrypto363
pendingWonElloek164

The last 1 share was just won yesterday and will be sent by the time this post is made, but will take a while to hit my account and get re balanced

As you can see, there were a lot of methods used to obtain shares. I have won a few shares, and gotten a few as a gift, the majority have come from either my silver trade or exchanging shares

I have invested a decent amount. 1oz of .999 silver with shipping and 25 STEEM of my own. But, I have a lot more shares than what that would have gotten me with just STEEM investment.

Exchaning Shares

Why do I like exchanging shares so much. Well, since one of the primary components of SBI is giving someone the other half of your investment, the best ROI is when you mutually agree to nominate each other. This cuts your return period down to 45 days vs 90. It also help reduce any potential payback risk due to price flucuation.

My goal = 100 shares

I have a goal of hitting 100 shares by the end of 2018. 36 shares in 5 months shouldn't be too hard, but I am going to see how many I can earn/win before spending any STEEM.

  • I am going to spend time each day looking for ways to earn or win SBI. There are plenty of contents, giveaways, ways to earn a share of SBI. For example I was able to earn 1 share buy doing an upvote/resteem/follow, and 2 shares for writing a unique article on a new discord game. I hope that if I can enter as many contests as I can find, and earn what SBI shares are available. I am going to let my STEEM build until the end of September and see how many share I can acquire before doing another swap.

  • Swaps - Outside of a few giveaways, I am going to almost exclusively do swaps on SBI shares. I just makes the most sense for me until I get to the 100 share mark. After that I may gift some or do giveaways as well.

After I hit 100 shares, I am going really focus on building my SP to at least 500. I will have to take a look at the best ways to get there.

What about you?

What do you think about SBI?
How many shares do you want to have?
How many shares are you aiming for?

Stack on!!


Please consider signing up for @dustsweeper to avoid losing upvotes to dust. (Currently capped at two dustsweeper votes per day)!




SttemSilverGold.jpg

image (1).jpg
(^^ made by Willsparks88)!

Sort:  

I have a bunch of shares, not sure how many and have gifted a few as well. I think it’s a decent deal. I guess I just need more shares to notice the upvote more.

My current upvote for this post was .213 STU, but with STEEM at $1.17 you can't expect too much. I see you have 7 shares in their lookup tool.

Resteemed you. That was a good read. I like the promise of this.

Thanks! SBI is a good tool to keep you motivated and drive you to keep producing quality content. I think it has some real promise and might be a monster if steem prices go up again

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks! SBI is a good tool to keep you motivated and drive you to keep producing quality content. I think it has some real promise and might be a monster if steem prices go up again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54