You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income 48h Raffle #4 (win lifetime upvotes on all your posts)

I’m actually looking into Universal Basic Income (UBI); it does vary depending on where I look. In short every citizen would get a set amount of money, no matter how much they earned. It would be just enough to get by.

We discussed this conversation at work, as we consider pharmacy jobs to become scarcer in the near future. We ended up branching out, on how many different jobs will eventually be taken over by robots. One colleague mentioned how UBI should be rolled out for this reason. It was a term I’ve heard before but not something I’ve looked into.

A part of me found it fascinating; I definitely think basic needs like food, clothes and rent should be available to everyone. If anyone wants more luxury items, they’d have to work and earn it. My research is still in the early stages and I won’t agree or disagree with it yet. Either way it’s an interesting idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49