You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nature Identification Contest (NIC) - win Steem Basic Income - Fridays rock edition - V.8

My guess is some kind of shell fossil.

Here is a flower that I have found recently.
It opens up at night and closes in the morning and comes in different colours. It is a new plant in our garden at work and I was wondering how it is called. Can you guess?

20190726_080648.jpg

Sort:  

Nice shot, Neli! As always. 🙂

I would say we are looking at Mirabilis jalapa known as Marvel-of-Peru or Four o'clock. This beautiful flower can be admired only during the late afternoons and nights. Like a botanical Cinderella, it dissappears in the morning (the flower, not the whole plant). Does it have a sweet delicate scent?

As always, not 100% sure but this is my guess. 🙂

You have guessed the name of the flower. 😀
The supervisor of the people who take care in the garden told me another name, more likely a nickname of that flower. It was something like dawn-dusk. But its real name is Mirabilis jalapa after I googled it.
The funny story is that at lunch time within a week time, I was walking near the flower waiting to see it blooming. And then two days ago arriving at work early in the morning I saw it in full bloom and just then I understood that it is actually a night flower and shortly after I took few shots it closed again for the rest of the day. 😀

What a funny story, my dear Neli. I remember something similar happening to me with the jasmine tobacco flower. Why wasn't blooming properly? Until one night when I was searching for one of the cats. And I saw this flower fully bloomed and so strong scented.
Truly, nature is the greatest magician. 🙂

A beautiful 4 o'clock! My grandparents always planted a row of them along the back of their house and one of my favorite jobs as a kid was to help collect seeds to plant the next year

That is another name of the flower, but do you know why it is called 4 o'clock?

I think the blossoms open late in the day and fall off in the morning?

Yes, the blossoms open at late afternoon. I have found another name of the flower - Night Beauty.

That is a great name for it, too!

I'm learning too! Super cool discussion!

Wow!!!! That is a beautiful flower! Amazing flowing reds and yellows... wow.

Thanks for stopping by and this awesome contribution!

The flower is unique with so many different colours - yellow, orange, red, multicoloured.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63645.37
ETH 3067.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81