You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Contest for Free Entry to Steem Basic Income plus two SBDs.

in #steembasicincome6 years ago

I was just thinking about this on my ride home today so I am happy to put some thoughts about this on paper.

I do not think a universal basic income is a good idea; I think it is a necessary change to the way we are doing things now. I think there needs to be a restructuring or perhaps an influx of new companies across all industries which are not for-profit, but for-the-people; profits would be spread across workers and communities where they operate. My school district where I'm from is going thru extreme budget difficulties right now as are districts across the country, and residents of my city are still complaining that our property taxes are too high, which they are very high. So where are we going to get this money from? Why doesn't the local Walmart and other businesses that operate in the city help with the schooling and infrastructure of the city they are making record profits in. I agree that more taxes are bad for those who earn for little, but for a cooperation, it is not a person who you are hurting. Maybe the executives, but fuck them. They need to spread the wealth, that is where the money can come from. If Walmart doesn't want to contribute to local schooling and infrastructure than force them to leave somehow legally so mom and pop stores can take its place. This is just an idea I had today, but I am absolutely sure that there exists a system where we can truly be FREE. America represents freedom. Freedom to what, work like a slave and still not be able to make it? This needs to change and I believe strongly that we need to take after Robinhood and take matters into our own hands. It is us against them. Wealth and greed go hand in hand and that mentality needs to change.

I know its more than 3 sentences, I already tried to enroll in steembasicincome but never received anything yet or a confirmation I can recall so I'm not really sure how that works.

I have a vision of somehow innovating a UBI outside of the government, with contributions from all and contributions to all, so we all can live the life we want to, without having to work menial or degrading jobs because we are forced to. In a system where these degrading jobs were only filled by people that WANTED to be there, they would be forced to pay much much more. I don't think someone scrubbing toilets should make $7.25 an hour while some guy in a desk gets to sit on reddit for 5 hours a day getting paid $30 an hour. It should be the opposite.

Sort:  

Walmart is actually a great example. The Walton family (which owns Walmart) is worth $170 billion. Meanwhile thousands of people in the same country are dying from lack of healthcare. I’m a believer in capitalism, but that situation can’t be the best way of doing things. This one family could almost finance a universal basic income in America by themselves!

It is surely not the best way of doing things. I watched a great documentary call The Four Horsemen the other day I highly suggest it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67