You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Next book to movie question, last week's winners, and more SBI shares!

in #steembasicincome6 years ago

That's me! I wonnnnnn!

And you'll read Die Unendliche Geschichte (The Neverending Story), so you win, because getting to enjoy that book is truly winning.

Now onto this week.

Twilight, eh? Gotta admit, while I've read a few pages here and there only, I HATED what that book taught about relationships. But... BUT BUTBUT, the first movie was so b-movie, that I couldn't help adoring parts of it... When she steps into the classroom and the rotating fan blows her hair! AH brilliant.

This one is extra hard, because the bad books aren't memorable...

Oh, can I choose one that I haven't read or seen, but know about? Atlas Shrugged...

Wait no, I can choose a controversial one!

Well, more controversial... no, I should say, controversial within my sphere. I think Ayn Rand opinions are inherently the most controversial, but they are predictable.

Anyways, the answer is The Great Gatsby. I really don't want to hear about the super rich people being super rich and awful, but admired, even if that's the point and the author/filmmakers know what they're doing. The fact that people would throw Gatsby parties after that film came out tells you all you need to know about how meaningless "intention" is when it comes to making art. What the audience takes away and what you intend for them to take away ... That's not a sentence, but it's a thought!
So... this goes back to my distaste for unlikable protagonists. I don't mind flaws, but they have to be, deep down, likable. In fact, I'd rather their flaw be something that, while it makes their life more difficult, makes them likable, like Harry's excessive efforts to be cool and Sally's "I'm alright" striding-forward-ness.

That's one of the best movies ever. Too bad it was never a book, or I'd have my answer for next week already.

Sort:  

Gatsby was required reading in high school. We watched the old version of the movie too (well it was the only version when I went to school). I never got it. I just felt bad that whole time and didn't understand why characters were putting up with all the BS.

And yes, Gatsby parties kind of miss the point! Thanks for coming up with a great example for the contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43