You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's the worst movie made from the great book? Tell me for a chance at SBI.

This is an interesting topic. There are so many bad adaptations that it is hard to nail a single one down. The thing that particularly bothers me is when the film betrays the source material. I can forgive the heavy editing that is necessary when one must sum up ten or twenty hours of book in a a ninety minute film. However, when the message that made the book valuable is removed, I may become upset. A lot of people really loved The Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit movies but the things that gave depth to those stories were kind of abandoned in favor of action and special effects.

Shakespeare adaptations tend to be pretty awful (there are some good ones though). Again, I think the same problem is at play. There are a lot of important things that ignored by film makers because they aren't particularly exciting.

As to the movies that legitimately made mad, I think Troy was super annoying. They took this great bit of mythology and removed the bulk of the mythology. To make it worse, they ignored everything that makes the Iliad interesting (the human story and deep characters) and gave us a paint by numbers action movie.

If we can extend this discussion to television, I would point to Game of Thrones and both an excellent and poor adaptation of a series of novels. There is a lot to like and they did a few things right but, particularly in the later seasons, they changed some extremely important things to make the show play better for a mass audience. That is fine from a business standpoint but it damages the property artistically and it often steps on its anti-war, anti-authority, and income inequality messages.

This is probably getting too long so I will stop rambling at you. Great great question though.

Sort:  

So sorry for the late reply. You've got some great points!

It is hard to watch when Hollywood takes a story and then bumps up the action just to keep people interested. Sometimes that still ends up being a good movie but nothing like the books.

I haven't read the GOT books yet (I have them though) but I have seen the complaints about the divergences that the show has made. I love the shows but I understand how they might not be good for die hard fans of the books.

I saw Troy so long ago I don't even remember it. I do remember the actual myths though so that probably says something!

Thanks for your thoughts and your entry.

No problem and thanks.

Haha Yeah the length of the series can make starting daunting. Book one and season one are very close. It starts to drift little by little after that. I still love the show (that is where I started too) but I find myself yelling at the TV sometimes lol.

Troy was one of those movies that was almost good but it is hard to cut down a poem of that length to two hours and I think they did it in the wrong way.

It is too bad I missed out on the other topic you mentioned about bad books and good movies because that is the harder one to answer, I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31