How is Steem Basic Income not a pyramid scheme??steemCreated with Sketch.

"This is even better than upvoting yourself!"

This seems a telling copy-paste from the section 'How can I get bigger upvotes on my posts?' from the bullet point that talks about upvoting @steembasicincome on their FAQ. I think I may have seen the account around before, but it appeared on my feed recently and so I took a bit of time to check it out. I don't really like what I've seen so far.

While perhaps not particularly jerky, it does seem a little circular to me

Steem Basic Income describes itself as "...a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible." yet it must not mean 'experiment' as in 'scientific experiment' since I see no mention of experimental methods or hypotheses and nary a thing it's trying to figure out. It goes on to say that "Members join by sponsoring others into the program." If the first thing that pops up on DuckDuckGo is anything to go by, that seems to fall in line with a pyramid scheme. The FAQ goes on to say that they pay the titular basic income by promising future upvotes. With hopefully oversimplified reasoning using the bullet point I mentioned that seems quite close (identical?) to upvote for upvote. I'm not a fan of that sort of thing (resteem for resteem, follow for follow, referral programs etc.) to say the least. Doesn't seem to add much IMHO.

I am not saying it is certainly a pyramid scheme or anything

I just want to know if it's not. Seems like something I'd be interested in, judging solely from the name.

I am a Steemian after all.

Thanks for reading!
Sort:  

I'm the founder of @steembasicincome. If you'd like to chat with me in our discord, I'd be happy to discuss your concerns.

#sbi-skip

I don't maintain a presence on discord. Also as of right now I find myself short on Resource Credits, so I'd kindly ask for your patience with discussion here.

Thanks for the reply! I'm also happy to discuss these concerns, and you seem like just the person to make the case for Steem Basic Income :) who better than the founder?

For now I have some more specific questions, not included in my post, that you might be able to address directly. Firstly, what are Units? Is it even crypto? Is it a number handled by a bot or jotted down by a human somewhere on a piece of paper or what? Second, if @steembasicincome were to succeed phenomenally and virtually everyone used it would it endeavor to upvote all content coming into steem? Furthermore, is any discernment applied to evaluate the content quality of posts upvoted by @steembasicincome, or is it based on the authors and their Units? How heavily automated is the process?

If you'd like to give even more answers, I'd ask you to perhaps address some of the quick points I make in my post. Particularly how it's different from a well articulated and systematic upvote for upvote would be an enlightening answer, and go some way to quell my concerns.

Lastly probably my easiest question. What is #sbi-skip, a bot flag? Mostly curiosity that one. Feel free to expound on the bot's behavior if it is, I'd certainly not be bored by the details.

I'd imagine these issues will be easily and concisely laid to rest, if a founder's timely personal engagement is any indication of legitimacy.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58