How I Draw! Cat Drawing Tutorial

Hi!
In this post I'll be showing you how I draw my digital pictures!
This is a little tutorial to help out other artists.

First step:

Whenever I draw a new subject, I always start out with a sketch.
I draw structures and bases so I know where I want everything to go!
My drawing is only of two cats, so I didn't have much to sketch or draw!
But its always helpful to look up references if needed to help draw a specific animal!

Second step:

Next, the lineart!
I always use black for lineart, but whatever you're working on, you can use whatever color you like!
Explore your choices!
I always like to use a small size lineart, it adds more detail and the lineart doesnt take up as much focus than if you used a bigger lineart.
I always like to make my lines flowing, it gives character to whatever you're drawing and it adds effect to what the theme of your subject is.

Third step:

Coloring.
Your picture, your character(s), your choices for colors!
Whenever I make a new character, I always like to make them colorful and have all of their colors coordinate with each other, Its very important to have a good color scheme to a subject or character, you don't want a character to be green and orange do you?
I think its important to have good color schemes to a character!
But it is your character, it can be anything that you imagine.
Since I was coloring real life cats, their colors where already chosen and they coordinated well with each other.

Fourth step:

Shading!
I always like to start out with a base shading layer, it gets every spick and span of the entire surface of the subject.
Its kinda of like an overall shading, where shading would hit and how dark everything would be.
I always like to use different colors other than black because not every shadow is black right?
So in this picture, I used a dark red. I usually only use Dark red, Dark orange, or Dark blue.
Those are the most used shading colors that artist use.

Once I made a base shading layer, I used a soft Eraser to erase parts of the later where the lighting would hit.
Using a soft eraser is always helpful!

Then I used the blur tool to blend it in, making it less noticeable.
Its always better to make the base shading layer less noticeable, you don't want your character to be a different color than what they really are right?

This is where the real shading begins.
I use a darker color to use for the real shading.
In this part, I shade the parts that are darker and where the light hits less.
I also shade the parts where it is most needed.

Then I blend those parts as needed.

Fifth step:

Lighting!
Lighting is also very important in a picture, it gives the subject or character more depth and makes it more realistic.
I always use the airbrush tool to make the lighting since its always blurred somewhat.
I use white for the lighting, if you used a light red, orange, or a blue, then your character would be a different color again and the lighting wouldn't be shown as well.
Use lighting on the parts where it is most needed!
Think before you shade or add lighting, where is the light hitting?
Where does the light hit less?

Like always, I blur some of the white and then i turn down the opacity so it isn't as intense.

Final Step!:

Background!
After feeling satisfied with your shading, add the background!
The background can be whatever you want it to be!
My background was just simple, the main subject or focus was the 2 cats, so I made the background less complex.
Im usually not the best with backgrounds, but you can always look up great references to making a good background!

I hope this helped!
This was just a small drawing that I did,
I usually add a lot more than just shading and lighting.

Feeling ready to draw?
Go ahead and grab that pencil or tablet pen and go for it!
Happy drawing!

Art(c)Silky Moon

Sort:  

Congratulations @silkyrainmoon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Cats dislike citrus scent.

They love mint and Catnip.

The term “puss” is the root of the principal word for “cat” in the Romanian term pisica and the root of secondary words in Lithuanian (puz) and Low German puus. Some scholars suggest that “puss” could be imitative of the hissing sound used to get a cat’s attention. As a slang word for the female pudenda, it could be associated with the connotation of a cat being soft, warm, and fuzzy.

Your cat can recognize your voice but acts too cool to even care.

Congratulations @silkyrainmoon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28