With Love - A Birthday Present

in #steemartists6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

Today's post is showing the sketch that I did as a present for my best friend a co-author of The Inexplicit Project Rossy, aka Fayen-ri. Btw, I'm still pursuing her to create a Steemit account... XD Don't know why she still resist tho'. She has incredible stuff.
Because I was very busy with my work and thesis I decided to do a simple illustration, hopefully one day will make it with details and colors too. ^.^

Border_01 (2).png

We did a collaboration many years ago, but I wanted to draw her character with my style.
Here's the initial sketch where I drew my OC Phery and she made her OC Lain. Later I combined them using Photoshop.
Picture 985_ copy.jpg


For the pose of Phery I used one of my recent works.
Here's a traditional sketch made two years ago.
_Scan_21.08.2016 005.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

After that a created the basic lineart for my present. I wanted to keep the idea of them separated by a wall or window.
Because he was cursed at an early age, Lain is moving away from all his relatives, including his twin brother and the only girl he's attracted to. Until Phery finds a way and helps him destroy the curse, he's always arrogant and cold to her. While in fact he's suffering deep inside. I wanted to show his longing and the same time his inability to reach her, not in this stage of the story.
Phery_Lain_2018_02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

That is why I first painted the wall using some brushes from differentxdreamz.
Phery_Lain_2018_03.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

And after that added some basic shading.
Phery_Lain_2018_04.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

I'm still not quite satisfied with the result, but I'm not stopping here. My plan is to repaint it later (maybe I'll keep the face - love how it turned out).

That's it for now!
Hope you have an extraordinary day!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

I love the soft shadows and the linework. Looks so clean and neat!

Thank you, dear! ^.^ Really glad you like it! ^.^ <3

It came out really nice @katalinaooma :) I really like the expressions, it really sells the narrative.

Thank you, @midlet! ^.^ I'm glad you like it! It's sometimes very difficult for me to express the ideas and feelings onto the canvas, but hope I did it this time. ^.^


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you, @c-squared! ^.^ Glad you like them!

Lovely post, Katalina <3 Wow, you've really improved leaps and bounds in art skills * ___ * amazing, katalina !!!

His expression is so apt! You've captured how sad he is, about his curse and having to be cold to others... and yet also how full with longing he is, not to have erected such barriers, to her... ; __ ;

Really well done with Lain's expression <3

Hope your friend will join us here at Steemit one day :D She sounds incredible!!!

Thank you, Spidey! ^.^ It was quite a challenge, because my style is very different from hers.
I wanted Lain to have a semi-realistic look, but also a bit of unnatural and almost flawless face (I did some research on korean actors and singers, their skin almost always look like it's made from a porcelain). Because he's very cold, I had to convey every emotion from his eyes. Hope I achieved that. ^.^

They are lovely duo :).

I like Phery’s hand, it is expressive and lovely.

Thank you, Scrawly! ^.^ I'm really glad you like it. I think I have to put some clothes on them later. XD

Are you sure that you have to put clothes on them? :)

Yeah... or just put some more details/shading on their bodies. ;)

Hehhehe I was just kidding, I think people in full clothes can be very sexy too. Either way, I'm sure you'll paint them well :).

Some (okay vast!) improvement over the years :O Conveyed the expression beautifully here :)

As for your friend resisting joining up here, well possibly why my sister would resist joining up here or anywhere else, "not another bloody socnet" XD and probably having to pretty much start over as far as "building a following" goes My sister had to practically be bullied by her friends into joining tumblr and even then she had enough fans with tumblr accounts that she probably had a huge following the second she joined.

Good luck with the convincing anyway ;D

goatsig

Thank you very much, Ry! ^.^ The first sketch was done with pencil in the late 2009 or something (maybe 2010).

Strange thing is that my friend prefers to stick to Deviantart and Insta (I'm not really sure if she has a tumblr) instead of creating an account here and just repost the things she already created. She's still struggling with making enough commissions despite the fact that she has time to draw (a lot more time than me in fact). Hope she sees the advantages of Steemit and the block-chain system soon.

Well if you have numerous active socnets you know how hard it is to keep on top of all of them, especially the "engagement" thing XD

To be perfectly honest I'm still not sure about blockchain tech but the sites that do stuff like this have got the best kind of entry level crypto I think.

goatsig

Amazing improvement Katalina! And happy (belated?) birthday to your friend!

Thank you, dear! ^.^ Yeah, it was couple of months ago, but I forgot to share it. ^^'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36