OC Alagart Sadmore WIP - 02

in #steemartists6 years ago

close up_02.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

I really love this character, that is why can't wait to finish this piece. Even tho' the scene is getting more and more complex. I combine every knowledge I have in composition, design, art style, colors, perspective, architecture, etc.
Don't know how many more WIPs will I share. Hope you don't get bored. ^^'
I'll try to be as entertaining as possible.


Today's part is related to fabric pattern. ^.^
So hop on and enjoy this quick and useful (probably) tutorial.

Border_01 (2).png

Let's start first with the latest version from my previous post. If you're interested how I got to this point, feel free to check it prior to this post. ;)
Alagart_012.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

During my hard drive cleaning and rearranging the folders, I found some really interesting patterns done for a client of mine last year.
The first one was perfect for the fabric in my opinion.
Pattern_01.jpg

For a reference I used a design on Freepik

Border_01 (2).png

My brother suggested I should divide the pattern into different parts, each with different direction. That way it doesn't look like it's one flat piece.
Al_Pattern_01.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

I didn't want to just place it on top without some tweaking tho'. ^.^ His robe has a lot of folds, so the pattern should follow them as one. So I found this easy technique that helps me achieve the effect.
I made a selection from the light part of the fabric that I drew (on a separate layer).
Al_Pattern_02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

That selection then was used for making a mask on the pattern.
I just had to switch the black and white areas of the mask (with ctrtl+I), because the mask was inverted (it showed the dark areas, not the light ones).
You can see the difference.
Al_Pattern_03.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Well, it needed a bit more work, but the overall feeling of the patterned fabric was achieved. ^.^
Here's the final version with the lights and golden edging added.
Alagart_013.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Next time I'll be showing you how I made the wall decorations... ^.^
Alagart_015.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Hope you like my progress so far.
Have a great day, everyone!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Looking absolutely wonderful, so far, Katalina ! It's really coming together very nicely <3 Keep it up~

Thank you, Spidey! ^.^ <3
I'm working on this piece in my free time only. I'm not rushing with it even tho' would like to draw every day until I finish it. ^.^

Yep that definitely looks like it's following the folds. Looks really awesome :)

Keep those wips coming, I'm not going to get bored of them and I don't care much about anyone else ;D

goatsig

Thank you, Ry! ^.^ I'm so happy you like it! ^.^
For me personally the progress of a scene/illustration/ drawing is far more interesting and important than the final piece. And if other people find it valuable - well, that's even better! ^.^

Thank you, @midlet! ^.^
I'm not very good with explanations, that's why I try to share as many screenshots as possible. ^^'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65128.13
ETH 3549.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48