Draw it Again Challenge! #1

in #steemartists6 years ago

^.^ Hello, dear ones! ^.^


Time for some action!
My first oficial contest entry for Steemit, hooray - Draw it Again Challenge! from @jillustrations ^.^


I found some really old sketch of mine. It shows 05.07.2009 but it could be older. It was inspired by the song "Carnival of Rust" from Poets of the Fall.
I still remember the lyrics. <3

The last one caught my attention:
"Don't walk away, don't walk away, oh, when the world is burning
Don't walk away, don't walk away, oh, when the heart is yearning"

It inspired me to do a sketch of two lost souls. They're nameless even today but I think the story is more important.

Draw it Again_All.jpg

He saved her but the cost was his life. Even though he paid it gladly.
Her longing made her touch what was left of him. Not enough. It will never be.
The last smile scattered into the air and only a faint shadow remained.


I had a lot of fun doing the sketch then.
So I had to make it better.

Draw it Again_04.jpg

Wow, they look so different. Maybe too different. My style changed so drastically for the past decade that this entry may not be qualified for the contest. :D

But still, hope you like it!
Have fun with everything you do and enjoy your day! ^.^

Sort:  

nono, don't worry, this is excellent! because the composition and pose is exactly the same it is obvious it's meant to be the same drawing "re-booted" that's all that matters - it's got to be recognisable ;D
don't forget to post your entry in a link (& drag and drop your artwork too) in the comment section of my contest post, so people can see your work ;D
you also used to draw a lot of manga eh? hahaha nice.
I love seeing these, and how people styles change and overall skills improve! it's so cool! <3
love it. <3

Thank you, dear!
I just posted the link in the comment section and saw your comment after that. :D
Yeah, I grew up with manga and anime. And used to like yaoi (glad it's not the case anymore) :D

excellent!
ahhhhh yes, guilty as charged here as well... 🙈 🙈 🙈
though there's some seriously adorable love stories in Yaoi. Not rrrreeally all that ashamed. I mean come on, every teenage boy is obsessed with lesbians. Why shouldn't teenage girls be obsessed with cute gay boys?! no regrets, I say!
I still find two cute guys getting it on hot af. And why shouldn't I? hee hee

True, true. ;)
I still remember some yaoi mangas that deserve appreciation. :D

The only shame I feel maybe comes from the fact I'm aware I enjoyed reading some of the rapy bits that are so prevalent in manga in general (they really throw the concept of "consent" all the way out of the window and over the cliff...). Kinda wanna have a time window and slap my 14 year old self for that. but eh. I grew, I learned.. XD

The world was different back then, dear! Reading this kind of manga was considered exotic, something extraordinary, out of you everyday life (at least for me it was). And with no ill manner/intention, just enjoying the good style and story, characters also (you know that some yaoi mangas have better art than most shoujo ones ;) ).

That was a vast improvement! And also a pretty massive style change, but such things can happen over time :)

goatsig

Thank you, @ryivhnn! Yes, I was surprised myself. It's possible when you get influence by so many different styles (at least that's what happened to me, wow).

It's amazing how artwork can evolve over the years. My older work was all manga inspired when I was in middle & high school so I'm now tempted to do a redraw. You've inspired me!

Thank you, @la-fumettista! It was the same for me when I was in my teens.
You still have time to participate! Can't wait to see your work. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61