I've Started Seeing Hummingbirds!

in #steemartists6 years ago (edited)

Or as my mother calls them, "hummies!"

Honestly though these birds are savage. They fight a lot and do cool divebombing maneuvers. I love the little sounds that they make. I am thinking of getting a humminbird feeder for our patio this year. Hopefully the strata won't mind. What is it with stratas and being crazy strict about what we put on our patios? Power tripping nutjobs.

Aaaaanywaaayyys, here's my hummingbird watercolour painting! It's one of my favourites :)

Hummingbird.jpg

It was may first bird painting... I'm never quite sure with birds, how much detail I need to put into the feathers. Obviously we all know that birds have feathers, so there really doesn't need to be each and every feather drawn out. But, I wanted to give it that bit of satisfying detail. I think I might have got it just about right with this one. I struggled a bit with the bigger feathers. At the time I was still pretty shaky with the paintbrush and ink. Still turned out ok!

Hummingbirds are good luck, so I hope this one makes for a happy week for you! :) Cheers!


Don't forget to upvote, comment, and resteem!

ALL content is MY OWN and subject to copyright. Reproduction & distribution is forbidden without my written consent. www.caitlynchapman.com

Peace & Love!

caitycat.jpg

Sort:  

I really love this drawing a lot !! Coolest thing I've seen in a long time, resteemed!!

Thank you so much! You are too kind!! :) Have a great day!

I love this painting. It looks like color drops are getting flicked off the wings. I think it's awesome too, how the colours on the breast look about right, but I've never seen a blue hummingbird before.

Thanks, man! I appreciate the love!!!

🎉 Congratulations @caitycat! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

I love the life of this painting. The splash of colour captures the kinetic energy of these little 'hummies' (adorable name by the way , way to go mum).

Who or what are the 'strata'? I used to make a delicious food strata. I keep picturing this lovely egg, meat, bread layered creature coming to your balcony and telling you to 'take down that bird feeder' with his bacon mouth. :)

Thanks, Donna! Aren't they just the most lovely little creatures?
Hahaha I didn't realize it wasn't a relatively universal term! The Strata Council is the group of people who decide and enforce the rules of the condo building we live in. There's one for pretty much every privately owned building. Ours is pretty good but they're known to be bossy and nitpicky.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

PS my mom cried when I gave her this painting :P

OMG really?! That's sooo adorbs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78