Another Go at the Alcohol Inks...

in #steemartists6 years ago

Alcohol inks must be a pretty popular summer hobby right now because every time I go to either of my local art stores, they are nearly sold out! So, last time I blogged about this, I was using just green and brown and gold. Today I picked up red, yellow, and orange as well as "extender." I really want to work with blues as they are always my go-to but so far they're always sold out. Maybe next time!

image.png

In any case, I learned something interesting today- the "extender" liquid is far more effective than just alcohol. I think it's pretty much the same thing except that extender has some of the paint binder in the solution so it doesn't dilute the colour, just the intensity, if that makes sense. I really enjoyed using it much much more than the pure alcohol.

image.png

I'm really enjoying learning how to achieve a minimal, meditative, dreamy look with this medium. This piece is just red (sangria) and gold. I use the extender to help me move it around on the Yupo paper until I like the shape. The gold is exceptionally hard to work with and I think I may try adding sparkle in a different way. perhaps with gold leaf. Anyways, I really like how this turned out! Making progress! :)

Last time I blogged about this, some people said they would love to try it-- has anyone given it a go? I would love to see what you created!


Don't forget to upvote, comment, and resteem!

ALL content is MY OWN and subject to copyright. Reproduction & distribution is forbidden without my written consent. www.caitlynchapman.com

Peace & Love!

caitycat.jpg

Sort:  

Such a pretty colour and form <3 And the texture is lovely, also !

Thanks, man! Such a fun medium!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56