You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some thoughts on starting a nonprofit

in #steemalliance5 years ago

Great post, and I'm glad you're sharing your experiences that serve as a great 'reality check' for those who want to pick up a role in the Steem Alliance.

I wonder which countries would make for easier regulations and if that's something we should try to do. Thanks to timezones and seeing where the initiative comes from my biggest worry now is most things are reasoned from a US perspective, even though we have a global community we can collect input from.

There's huge opportunities if we really weigh the options, I hope we'll find a way to seriously consider them.

Sort:  

Yes, that should absolutely be investigated once Ned clarifies what his requirements are. Since our nonprofit was physically located in the US, we didn't explore any other options, so my knowledge there is zero.

I do worry a bit that since Steemit is in the US, and Steem was created in the US, and the US is perfectly willing to assert its jurisdiction on the slightest pretext, many options that might have been there otherwise may not be robust. I suppose that's largely a problem for Steemit's lawyers, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00