25 years a gamer

in #steemace5 years ago

Another day another tribe

As a small introduction I want to give you a bit about my history as a gamer.

I am now 36 years old and I guess I was around 10 when I bought myself from my saved up chrismas/birthday money a Game Boy.

If my parents would know how big this influence would be for the rest of my life, I am not sure if they would have allowed it.

nin.png

As times goes on there were many consoles and platforms but I want to focus on the highlights.

The SNES

Wikipedia_SNES_PAL.jpg

Probably still my favorite console as I think the graphic style is timeless and the games still fun at least for a while and especially with the retro classes on.

My highlights are definitely

9064004-0_1.jpg

snes_mortal_kombat_2_p_n5pa9w.jpg

snes-super-mario-kart-f.jpg

Each of this game I ve played for hours and hours, alone and with friends and I have great memories about them.

I also love the packaging back then. The manual was almost as exciting as the game itself...well not really but you get my point.

The Playstation

51tkmb93AiL._SX342_.jpg

51FJZMEGENL._SX342_.jpg

81JuXXzndSL._SX342_.jpg

I know there is a Final Fantasy 7 remake in the making and I will probably end up playing it but I doubt it will get me as excited as the original. When I first saw the commercial and the graphic of the cutscenes I was sure I was living in the future just already today.

Tony Hawk 2 was one of my most played games probably on the PS1. This is the game were I regret that there was no internet around yet (not really) and you could not check other peoples highscores as I am still sure my score in the hangar level has to be somewhere way up there.

Tekken 3...it is Tekken and till then every Tekken was good.

I did not have a PS2 or N64. I ve played a bit when I was at friends but I never picked one up but I was not too interested in videogames at this time.

I had a Playstation 3 and X Box 360 but except Gears of War I dont remember a game which really blew my mind.

The Pc had a way bigger impact on my gaming journey then. With Starcraft 2 and a lot of Diablo 2 and 3 I wasted/enjoyed many many hours in front of the monitor.

I still play games mostly on the PC, a bit on the PS4 but

I got older

or

Games changed

I spend less time with one game now and it does not catch me anymore as games used to. I still appreciate a game like "last of us", "Red Dead Redemption", "GTA" and many others but often I feel like I want to be done with them.

Maybe they got too big for me especially the open world games.

Sort:  

What's good champ! I'm 36 too so I guess we enjoyed the same ride when it comes to Video games. I recently wrote an article of how video games helped how to learn English. Those times will never come back mate but the games still remain to revive them. Regards champ!

they helped me as well. 36 is the new 29 which is the best age

Congratulations @flipstar.game! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey there @flipstar.game, welcome to STEEM. If you join @schoolofminnows, you can receive votes for free.
1. Your post will appear in post-promotion on the discord.
2. Your posts will also get featured on the school of minnows account on steem
https://steemit.com/@schoolofminnows
3. You get votes from other members.
4. The whole thing is FREE.
To join follow this link:
https://steem.host/connect/steempunks

I followed you up until super mario cart.

The "new" videogames make me dizzy and I feel sick if I spend too much time watching them.

Liked the timeline, thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63