You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: What Would You Do If Your Influence Keeps Diminishing Inspite Of Powering Up?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

While I agree to most of what you say here, I don't think your influence will diminish if you're active here and powering up most of your earnings. It's still very easy to get a higher growth rate on your existing SP than the inflation in Steem. Even if you're not active but continuously powering up all your passive earnings, your percentage of reward pool is bound to increase if you delegate all your SP to some bid bot. I just had a look at http://isteemd.com/ and noted that almost all bidbots are giving you a better return than the current inflation rate of Steem.

However, I get what you wanna say here. Since the bidbots and delegation market got prominence, earning rewards on Steem is no more same as before. I too had mulled over this issue here:

Manual Curation Is Dead! Who Will Vote Me Now?

I can see that the Proof of Brain is a failed concept and I have no motivation to produce quality content here. In fact, I must admit that my own content quality has decreased a lot over time. The best motivation I get to stick to Steem is its powerful search engine optimization ...and I've high hopes from SMT & Velocity. Without that there won't be any significant momentum in Steem price as well as new joinings. But my patience is being tasted beyond my boundaries 😉

To the people who are not using bidbots or bot backed communities & platforms; because they are against these concept, I'd say they are missing on it. I use bots though I'm against them because we need to work the way system works at present. If you won't use bots, someone else would. You won't get anything from the reward pool on which bots have all the influence. If you want better rewards than bot, engaging in self-voting (or creating multiple accounts for it) is more rewarding in the current system.

Personally, I don't expect good rewards in the current system. I just write here for the sake of writing and if this system doesn't change soon, I'd rather move on to something better as and when I get an opportunity.

Would like to hear your thoughts too on this matter. Do you see any remedy to it? If so, kindly enlighten us.

Sort:  

Thank you for articulating this nicely. I'm not pro-bid bot use because of two main reasons.

  1. Dilution of influence over reward pool.
  2. Lowered curation rewards

However if rewards continue to dilute further and push comes to shove, that just might be the only recourse around here for most who aren't supporting bid-bot use currently.

I've powered up a lot of what i've earned here as well invested a lot of my own funds in 2 years. So it does hurt to see day to day earnings deplete with no fault of your own. Especially considering we're just around 38-42K active users and 8K-85K active voters of which a large percentage are bots or alt accounts as per what i've heard recently.

SMTs might be great eventually but at the moment I don't see how it will improve the price and even if you earn extra token for your content, these SMTs themselves need to have a great value in the market for anyone to earn a decent income here to add to their livelihood or fund new projects to promote the blockchain, tokens and dapps.

A lot of my own plans for growing the community are on hold due to lack of votes which just 2-3 months ago were great and were funding a lot of activities and there were 2x planned for the 2nd half of which pretty much all are junked until things improve.

Now we're left to fend for ourselves and that's not going add to the growth of this platform and that presents an issue as well as an opportunity such as bid bots for users who don't get organic traction on their content.

This is a major problem for growth around here which needs to be tackled at the earliest. But I'm not sure how and who is going to address these issues as I don't see much from Inc on these matters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35