You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Encryption keys are what protects our data here on Steem

in #steem6 years ago

great post loads of information sir would you like to post How to send a message privately that nobody can see what we send and whom we send..

Sort:  

Most people use discord to do that. My discord id is @WWF#2870.

You need to log in with your memo key and start your message with an # (space after the hashtag)

Nice. To be clear, if I signed in with my memo key and started this message with a '#', you would be the only one that could see it as it is a reply to your message?

No. It just works with an Memo in a transfer. I thought this is what @xawi means.
The content of the memo is encrypted but everyone can see who it was send to.

Thank you for the clarification. So if I logged in with the memo key, sent you .001SBD and wrote '# hi there security101' in the memo field, nobody would see what I typed as it would be encrypted. I just want to be clear for the other users so that they know how it works.

Yes that’s right !
Of course when doing a transaction from the wallet you need to provide the private active key.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54