You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM: Breaking upwards or about to break upwards?

in #steem7 years ago

Bloodbath? We haven't even got started yet, hehe :P. No, there's no way to predict what will happen - so I'm just joking there. But I just have expereience when bitcoin lost 80% of its value. Even last year ethereum lost over half its value. Plenty of alts have already lost half their value from their peeks this year.

So, seriously, I do think it's sensible to prepare for that scenario if it did happen. I've got plenty of crypto I will just hold even if it fell to 0. But that's balanced by the funds I keep in fiat, which I would hope to use to buy in at the bottom and thus offset the losses from the ones I held throughout.

Sort:  

This though- Bloodbath? We haven't even got started yet, hehe :P

Now I'm getting worried. Lol. My portfolio is still a mess to be honest, I just keep on putting money in on different coins and ico. Too diversified. I'm hoping for another movement up and dispose some, and use the fund for other icos. For some reason im drawn to new projects! I hold a few top 20 coins, long term, and still steadily adding on these whenever able.

Your plan seems legit, specially since you're heavily invested, i think it makes sense.

I don't know if there's going to be a downturn (but all my expereince tells me there will be a deep correction at some point but I don't know when) but because I have so much of my net wealth in the crypto ecosystem, I would be crazy to not hedge against a fall. This can be done simply by allocating a proportion of all your holdings (10%,20%,30%,50% or whatever) to USD/EURO/other fiat and leaving those funds on an exchange (or better, more than one exchange) - so that if and when a crash occurs, you can use that money to increase your crypto holdings before the next rise. Alternatively if you have extra funds in a traditional bank account, then you can use this to buy in when prices are cheap. But if you have everything in crypto, then it simply isn't possible to buy in after a crash, or even buy in after a 'dip'! ;) Really depend how much you have invested in crypto. If it's not a significant proportion, then just holding through a downturn shouldn't affect you negatively too much. But you really have to decide if you want to be a 'holder' or a 'trader'. Personally, I'm both: one proportion is allocated to trading, and the other to holding.

I'm still a holder now, but have thought of the same approach as yours. Part holder and part trader. I need to be educated first on trend analysis before i jump into trading! ^_^

....and now, marketcap is at $88B.

O.M.G.

Mm, but I did say.. :(

Basically, in crypto I think you do have to at least always prepare yourself for every possible scenario...good scenarios like 10x profit, but also an outcome like 90% drop. I.e., if your strategy is hold then just hold whatever: even if it drops by a lot, if you still believe in the underlying value proposition, then it should recover after at some point and then heading back up. That's my own strategy with SP, btw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55350.11
ETH 2887.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27