Keeping a promise to the community and trading steem dollars for US dollars

in #steem8 years ago

About two weeks ago I posted a blog about the plight of refugees and pledged to donate all the rewards to that cause. The payout was a bit disappointing. I think people thought I was gaming their emotions and had no intent of donating. I’m posting this as proof that I am a man of my word and also for those who want to know how they can spend their steem dollars on whatever they choose.
https://steemit.com/politics/@william-noe/i-support-refugees-here-is-why

Here was the payout


First I convert steem dollars to steem tokens
Go to your wallet and select buy or sell this takes you to the steemit market. I bought 309 tokens for $100 steem dollars.

Bittrex

If you do not have a Bittrex account create one now. I already had one so I logged in and got my address info.

Next I transferred from my steem wallet to Bittrex account.

Once the funds were available in Bittrex I converted to BitCoin.

CoinBase

Next I used my CoinBase account to exchange BTC for USD and transfer USD to Paypal. I needed to transfer the BTC just purchased to my CoinBase wallet.

It took about an hour for the funds to arrive in CoinBase.

It looks like I’ve lost about $4.00 in value. I was in a bit of a hurry so I was not checking my margins on the exchanges, also there have been some transfer fees. All in all it’s going pretty well so far. There will be more fees before I’m done I think Paypal charges 3.75%.

Paypal

Here is the final transaction

So my $100.11 steem dollars are exchanged for $92.43 USD

Making good on my promise

I found out the original charity UNHCR does not take Paypal so I’m going to donate to UNICEF instead. They are helping refugee children and they take Paypal; I wish they took BTC it would have saved a few steps, better yet Karma Coin I have a pile of that I’d like to spend.
Here is confirmation of my donation of $93.43 to UNICEF

I’m sure this is not the first post of this kind. Please feel free to post comments below if you have any tips to help me or others. Also If anyone has questions please post as well.

Sort:  

Upvoted you

Thats 😎 nice walk through!

Good on you for following through and valuing your word (literally and figuratively). Not sure if it's been done before, but now Steemit has officially been used to support charitable causes. That's pretty cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97