Why Steem's Blockchain?

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Recently, I have accepted that SteemIt, Inc. isn't going to do a lot to develop the user interface of SteemIt.  I think they have told us that pretty clearly.  They have also let us know they will not be marketing the SteemIt, social media site.

After a few of my family members signed up in the last couple of weeks, I was reminded of the weaknesses of the platform for the user-interface and new-users.

My impression is that they want someone else to build a better user-interface. 

As a result I began to imagine doing just that.  I come from a technology background, but I don't know anything about Blockchain development, so I would have to surround myself with experts.  The expert pool I could choose from would be smaller and likely more expensive, so I would have to build an amazing and rare team.  Funding the project feels doable, with a great vision and SteemIt's success to point at as a model.  

My imagination was excited now, so I began to think about the people and the project, I began doing "cocktail napkin plans" in my brain.  When I got to one spot, my imagination got stuck.  These people would be smart, they would ask lot's of questions.  If we are building the team, funding the project, why would we choose to put this new project on the Steem blockchain?  




What blockchain should we build this fabulous site on?  Why?


What are your thoughts on why our newly created team should build here?


Sort:  

Well done post You deserve for getting Upvote from me. I appreciate on it and like it so much . Waiting for your latest post. Keep your good work and steeming on. Let's walk to my blog. I have a latest post. Your upvote is high motivation for me. Almost all Steemians do their best on this site. Keep steeming and earning.

This comment has received a 0.08 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Oh this is indeed a very interesting concept. Iota seems viable considering their tangle technology. I too have experienced my 2 daughters signing up for steemit but quickly loosing interest and returning to FB simply due to lack of tools and user incompatibilities. This was a huge disappointment to me as they both spend most of their time on social media platforms...

Peace,
The Last Sage

Yes, communities will help, but there are a lot of issues with the signup and landing page. If you stay long enough you get used to it. :)

If they were making money with it I think they'd soon be back haha.

Becouse we made the future now. The society of those who create and share thoughts and content. I believe in sharing economy and the progress of blochchain technology. That is why we are establishing our local Czech community with my friends. Its rather hard but it worths it.

We should possibly build a stronger platform , a platform in which we see progress and have more members joining , better adervisment , better way to help the new users stay without giving up . A lot of new users posts are not seen with value , you and I both were at that point one time

Agreed, but if we were to start from scratch... would I pick Steem as a place to build it?

You have a good idea. I'll follow you because you're a smart person.

I agree the user interface is kinda hard on new users. I can see how someone wants to change or improve it. You have a great idea on your mind :)

Yes, once we get used to the interface it works fine, but it is frustrating, so that is a user's first experience. Frustration. In my business life that is not the first impression you want to leave on your user-base.

Improving the Interface of this would be awesome move.

Since i have no clue about the how, the main reason to build here is i guess, that you already have something big..
You would not have to start everything from zero, you have the possibility to reach~ 250k users (?) with one post.
At least a proper search engine would be enough :)

loved this.. Yep, do it on steem, because.. YUUUUUGE

It was always comfortable and easy for me to use it.
But i'm up to any improvements hmm... I wonder what would i improve.
But isn't steem blockchain faster? We need another one?)

We do have a fast blockchain. That is a plus for Steem as well.

Make some thing with both blends of twitter and Facebook

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66938.08
ETH 3100.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74