Where is the sense of urgency, passion and pride?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

We are just over 2 years into this project and I realize the price is down, but if we are still here we are still working on it.


I've enjoyed working for Startup's for the culture of Urgency, Passion and Pride.  I helped take 2 different projects one went public and the other was acquired by a public company.  Steem is a great idea, a great business opportunity, but I feel FOMO, I fear we are going to miss our opportunity.  

We didn't show up and put in our 8 hours and go home.  Our CEO, Kerry, was always painting a vision of what we were doing, why and what impact it might have.  We brought Medical Coding online, we made the books and former tools obsolete.  We did it when nobody else knew why.  We had to tell them.  Once they got it, they told their co-workers and other offices and our services spread faster than we could support.  As people on the inside, we knew our problems and our imperfections but we KNEW we were doing something new, something important.

Here on Steem, we are building an economy, no matter how imperfectly we are monetizing content, most content providers are making more here than elsewhere, even if it isn't perfectly fair.  We are offering an immutable, free service that pays those who learn how the system works and work it.  We are bringing opportunity to people who wouldn't have it otherwise.  We are in a tech industry and tech doesn't wait for people to figure out they have their hands on a Goldmine.  I've seen lots of business ideas in my life.  I have played a roll in 2 different startup companies that either went public or were acquired by public companies.  I've heard a lot of ideas that have left me feelingless.

So many of you are caught up in the day-to-day BS, you have lost the vision.  So what the price is low, so what rewards aren't perfect and development is slow.  I mean do you not see what we are doing here?  We aren't giving money away, we are building a platform where Alex Jones (no matter how toxic he is) can say what he wants to say and the users can decide whether or not to support it.

People from Africa can build an audience and change the lives of their family and those around them.

We are giving Authors and Bloggers and Singers a chance to hone their skills and earn a bit while doing it.  If some government doesn't like it, using simple tools we can continue to work, earn, grow a new Industry.  

We are giving Developers chances to be self employed and build projects in a smaller and more business friendly  environment.  We are allowing access to political views and ideas that are mostly being shut down in other sectors.  We are making friends world wide and giving those people "insurance" against a financial crash within their own economy.

Everyone is sad their wallet is a bit smaller but you are forgetting to take pride in the idea that we could just be changing the monetary systems of the world.  No, we aren't perfect and Greed and Envy still are normal human behaviors, but we are making progress.  We have built a community, we have given opportunities, we are making some very rich and many others have received "More" than they would elsewhere.

It's messy, it's ugly, we are doing it anyway!

Wake up and see the big picture.

What's your purpose here?  What do you hope to achieve? Are you proud?  Why or Why Not?


@whatsup

Sort:  

My purpose is to #growsteemit by creating and curating well, inviting others including those from alternative platforms, and grow my audience in the process, to the end of 1) supporting my family, 2) having fun and 3) sharing my life and faith on steemit.

Im bullish. Im committed. Im active and long term.

Thank you for this rallying speech. Just what we need here, now.

<3 Much Love and Respect @whatsup!

I'm not even just saying it. I want to shake everyone. :)

^^^ <3
gorilla-joint-steem2.jpg

@whatsup,
I am Steemian! So it's proud to say that and I am using STEEM to backing up my financial crisis of the real life! Non other platform truly doing this! But STEEM does! With SMT launch, we could see more DAPPS than content creators on this blockchain! I am waiting to see that bright future!

Cheers~

To be honest I think a lot of us feel Bamboozled by people that said stuff like "price doesn't matter."

Whales that didn't want the price to go down before they could power down and get out.

If it falls down to $0.07 again does price matter then?

If someone is able to buy 11,000 SP like I have for only $500.... does it matter then?

I'm depressed and disappointed in the platform. I haven't been writing as much because nobody reads my articles and stories except for people that don't even speak English and say stuff like "thank for good content. please contonue and upvote."

It seems like a vast majority of the community is only in it for themselves.... even "big shots" who claim to love the community.

I tested this over the last few months by making some long well though out comments and I received about one penny usually for my half-hour's worth of work. They can't afford to give more than a penny. It takes three cents to make a payout.

Scammers in big suits with tons of SP.

It's frustrating.

My boss at work bought $100,000 worth of Facebook stock when it was $11 a share. He's now a millionaire.

I'd like to think we could do something similar with steemit but in order for that the happen, hive mind is going to have to come out and so are smt's. The next hard Fork, which comes out on the 25th of September, does not include either of these things.

I will keep on posting and I will keep on engaging community and I will keep on writing my fiction stories even though no one's reading them.

I wish I could take a firehose though and wash away all of the scammers and people that are only in it for themselves. I think we'd lose the vast majority of people here though.

Yeah, I am not saying I never have any doubts, but we are okay. Just moving along with the markets. There isn't a lot of interest in crypto right now and it is reflected in the price and activity.

Those who are rich now, went through 2 years of a bear market and they kept buying.

I am afraid we were over promised and under delivered.

I agree! Following you respectfully. We need to keep pushing!

Very very well said. This is so much bigger than our individual earnings, and those that see all the amazing projects that have come out of this platform know that. We just need to continue business as usual through a time like this. We’re still earning a TON.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Short term thinking is killing us. This is the time to make friends with the hard core crew!

That’s exactly what I was thinking!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It seems that we have dropped in the development score from the last time I checked...but I do take your overall point

https://www.coingecko.com/en?sort_by=developer_score

Yeah, well... the communication is getting better, but they should light a fire under those devs.

We are playing with fire if we don't. ..

Everyone is sad your wallet is a bit smaller

Your last part made me laugh...it's messy and ugly, but we are here to stay. I think many people are here for the wrong reasons, and if they were here from where it all started they would understand that we have been waiting for these changes for a very long time. We understand that Rome wasn't built in one day but most people don't. We all came for the rewards, but here we all are...still waiting for communities...ha ha ha!

Communities. Ah, yes, I remember that idea. In some ways we have started making our own, through tags, and discord, steem.chat, etc.

Such a grand adventure. I am excited to see how this all turns out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33