The Day I Mined Bitcoin - Technical Notes (not really)

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Many years ago, when Bitcoin was young and unknown I heard about it somewhere.  (I don't even remember where) I googled and read about Bitcoin for a while and I thought the idea was very interesting.   

  • Step One - I read some stuff

After reading more stuff, I set up a wallet and a program that was mining Bitcoin, At the time I had a top of the line gaming laptop from Dell.  I was convinced it could do the job.  

  • I spent a day setting up some stuff

I went about my day, and when I came back from dinner my Dell was hot to the touch and when I checked my wallet I hadn't even mined one full Bitcoin yet.  There was some odd number it looked something like this. . .  .9012345  I laughed at myself, deleted the mining thing and the wallet.

  • I quit

Through-out the years I heard about Bitcoin from time-to-time, and I started to understand what it was.  I regretted quitting, but by then there was not really any chance of mining it on a home computer and I didn't want to invest in the hardware.  (I priced it out a few times and never did it)

  • I watched a little

Well obviously my Bitcoin mining experience did nothing for me or the cyrpto-world in any way..

  • Except It Did!

What did my mining experience gain me?

  • When I heard about SteemIt and Steem I was ready to take it seriously!

Thanks Bitcoin.

Sort:  

Not dissimilar story here... somebody came to me around 2009 with this "electronic money" thing that you could actually "mine." I looked into a little and "realized" that (a) I would have to invest in spendy equipment and still have no guarantee of returns so (b) this was just something for deeply entrenched developers... like the 1% nerdiest part of already nerdy developers.

Somehow came across some news story about "alt coins" a couple of years ago and thought to myself "damn... there's more than ONE of these things, now?" and blew it off again.

Ended here by accident because someone was going on about "Basic Income" and referred me to an article about VivaCoin... which just happened to be published on Steemit. The rest, as they say, is history!

That is a GREAT story. And is similar. I for one am glad you landed here.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.54 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hey @whatsup! Good post. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50