Relax It's Social Media

in #steem6 years ago


When I got started on SteemIt, I bought into the idea of having "The Perfect Post".  I've written often about how I don't think "Quality Content" is the point.   Today I was triggered by someone who I respect a lot bringing up that topic again.  "Only post when you have something super special to say."  That's not how social media works.  You just communicate with others about what you are doing, thinking, experiencing, some knowledge that you have.

It needs to be understandable and relatable, but I'm not trying to be an Author here.  I don't even consider myself to be a serious blogger.  I'm just someone using the Steem Blockchain to communicate and exchange ideas with people around the Globe.  I embrace the experiment side of this project.


We should treat our readers with respect it also is what it is...  Social Media not an attempt to find the best Author/Artist on the Internet.

This site will likely not be THE the solution to Greed and World Hunger.  It's an experiment in Freedom, in negotiation and often a place to test ideas as well.  For some it has been life altering for others it is just a place to have fun.  It can be source to earn a living or a mild diversion, a place to put a message that isn't "mainstream" friendly.  Some are building businesses and others are creating an audience.

Some are farming Steem.  Is that different from "mining"?  Does it matter?  We can debate it, but only time will tell.

Please for the sake of kittens, babies, dogs and the children:

Please make comments, Hand out a Flag, Please post your links, Please say "nice post", just add some more thoughts also, Please make friends, Please engage with others, Please self-vote, Please rant, Please make shit posts, once in a while.   Please engage however you like, Please nag the minnows, Please make people feel insecure about their quality, Please beg, Please talk about Pizzagate and Conspiracies, Please make 10,000 word posts, Call out the founders.

Buy a vote, adopt a minnow, flag a spammer, Upvote your comment, pay attention to how it feels and just relax and enjoy.  The control freaks will continue to try to control.  

I also want to remind you that it's social media. It isn't a path to finding your inner Shakespeare. I think sometimes the message of creating a great post can be intimidating to new users. 

It's fine to post what you want, if others don't like they can ...

Not upvote it.  If they really hate it they can flag it.  Life goes on.

You are now free to move about the Blockchain

@whatsup

Sort:  

@whatsup,
I'm just someone using the Steem Blockchain to communicate and exchange ideas with people around the Globe.
I think I must try to adopt this! Coz I know I am not a perfect blogger either!

Cheers~

No need to be perfect, just interesting!

Project 6_23-01.jpeg

I like your new tablet comments. They are actually pretty fun!

Project 6_27-01.jpeg

I like how people on Steemit don't do dumb spammy posts as much as Facebook people.

It's social media, not mainstream media. There's no point being too formal on this site.

It takes a bit of balance. We don’t need to create amazing works of art but there’s also such thing as taking the piss.

Like a post that I saw with a $50 reward on it yesterday. The entire post said “nice post”. You could probably classify that as Steem farming since that could only be the purpose of the post. I think it’s disrespecting Steemit though.

This platform is meant to be proof of brain rather than proof of work. So it’s on posts like that where I bring out my pretty little red flag.

Yeah, I guess I should say, if you make a shit post don't boost it. Excellent point, I was talking about content not rewards.

Yeah I noticed that, I got a little side tracked with my train of thought. :P

if you make a shit post don't boost it


Thats the golden rule

I totally agree with you, we must let go, free ourselves and share all the ideas that cross our mind while we consider them worthwhile.

300th upvote on this post... somehow, that amused me.

Where were we?

There's an invitation inherent in social media for people to be who they are. Unless, of course, you're representing an organization or a brand... in which case you'd probably be smartest to snap in line with the organization/brand's goals... or look for the nearest exit.

I'm pretty resigned to the idea that the Human race pretty much is what it is. I have lost several good gigs (and jobs) to greed leading to bankruptcy, to outsourcing, to just plain overexploitation to various other things. My general observation about humans is that if anything good (and particularly "idealistic") comes along, we WILL destroy it... or, at the very least, reduce it to the lowest common denominator.

So I'm pretty much without attachment to anything being done/used in any particular way. Let people be who and what they are, and let the pieces fall where they may. Which — usually — is "apart."

Let's be real... it's WalMart that's making billions, not "Fred's Conscientiously Handmade Goods."

Meanwhile, I'll have fun till there's no longer a place to have fun with!

The problem isn't the content and people being people. The problem is the incentives don't give incentives, in my opinion.

Well, yeah, the incentives are a little screwed up.

I'm going to stick with something I tried to point out over a year ago... which is that @dan & co (in their original creation of the Steemit idea) grossly underestimated the level of green and self-servingness inherent within many people.

The incentives would probably work just fine in a world where all Steemians were "rational adults working towards maximizing the common benefit for all."

That world is a fantasy.

The real world is more like what happens if you throw a handful of coins on a crowded street. People scramble uncontrollably to "get theirs" even though a handful of pennies and nickles make NO material difference to their lives.

Yes, I'm cynical in certain ways!

I can't argue that. There is also a lack of understanding human behavior and how to reward good behavior and ignore or punish bad behavior. Human behavior is not hard to predict and impact.

I've spend hours and thousands of corporate dollars sitting in courses on how to motivate people, be an effective leader etc.

I compare this situation with zero leadership like a teacher leaving a class of children alone and without a task. The expected result would be chaos.

I'm fine with decentralized, but a visionary leader would be really helpful! I guess I am cynical also. I still have hope that a leader will develop.

Yeah, there sure seems to be a lot of folks trying to dictate how people should run their accounts. Many posts don't hit more than .10 or so I have noticed in trying to curate accounts with rep less than 50. The audacity of those folks taking so much from the reward pool. And, if they are lucky enough to be likable and get 50.00, power to them.

The reward pool is not some holy grail. It is accessible to everyone participating. There are many great bloggers here for those who prefer that, I have several I follow and they get rewarded by me and many others for the effort they put in, and by my choice if I am low on votes they get my vote before the "how my day went" posts others I find likable on my follow list get. But if I want to upvote the latter, that is my business. Don't be hatin on those I give that vote to just because they are more likable and can get a vote for it when others can't.

Got to love the claims of people who say they can't wait for decentralization while trying to act like they are the central authority with their do's and dont's.

Yeah, there is a guy I flagged for a while, he posts 2 picture posts and upvotes them. I went to look at his account today and he has 8000 sp and is holding.

First, I felt a little mad. (It took me much longer to build my account) After I thought about it for a minute at least he is powered up and holding. Shrugs. I don't know anymore. :)

I agree, we do need to lighten up, At the same time have our flags ready for the really bad shitposters

Totally agree with this! If we get used to flagging and getting flagged once in a while, the spam and abuse will go down quickly.

And here I'd like to add one of my favourite quotes:

"opinions are like bottoms, everybody has one!"


So give everyone the freedom to share their bottoms!
Steemit is indeed an interesting experiment and everyone should be free to make of it what they want. Each to their own Steemit.

I totally agree. The faster the community decides to relax and let everyone else be the sooner things calm down and grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25