You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Whale Voting Experiment Explained (including downvotes from @abit)

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I am all for working on the voting allocation, and I understand what he was trying to do.

From the end user's point of view, it was a bad idea.

If he felt it was necessary he could have announced it first. He could have set some real criteria.

He can use his stake how he wants, and flagging is just downvoting... blah, blah. Just because you can doesn't mean you should.

If SteemIt is at all interested in building a happy user-base, they really need to consult with some people who care more about people than technology. People who understand human nature and all of that.

Sort:  

I agree 100% it should have been announced first. The goal is for him not to have to downvote though. It is basically up to the other whales to decide if they want to 'play along' with the experiment.

Sorry Tim, I respect you greatly. He didn't let the other whales decide. He decided.

There was a lot of conversation in private slack and other channels with the other whales. Not everyone was contacted though, which is an issue. There are a lot more whales involved than just @abit though. [Edit] I am not 100% sure on this, but I believe more than 50% of the whales are participating.

Thanks for being cool about it, Tim!
Hopefully things will pan out for the better.

Nesting limit...lol
If so, these downvoted posts are getting 5 votes at -3% when they haven't even accumulated a $1 payout...this is going to start affecting people's rep scores if it isn't fixed.

I'm all good with tests, but there was clearly zero communication within the "testers" community.

I agree communication was an issue. That's why I created this post.

Are there examples of posts getting flagged below zero? It was my understanding that they were trying to make sure that the downvotes did not affect rep scores.

Are Smooth, Bernie, and his alt accounts also doing this? I'm seeing multiple downvoted posts that are an hour or so old that have yet to have a whale vote. (Other than whale bots(?) voting at very low percentages. i.e., created, wang, summon, etc.)

I believe so.

Below zero? Nope, not yet. Haha

Like I said, I'm totally down with this experiment and I fully understand the "whys" and "hows"...just wish there would have been better communication between the whales and the community. A lot of people are bummed because it was sudden and unexpected - add that to the fact that a few of them finally had decent payouts and it can cause a bit of a disruption in the force. Lol

Agreed 100% that the communication was bad. Hoping my post will help :)

As long as the payouts do not go below zero, then it will not hurt the user's rep score.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55