You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time For A Minnow Uprising: Overwhelm The System

in #steem6 years ago

Actually, I'm not a minnow, but I totally hope you find people who want to do this and that it works!

Usage is good, the focus on Quality Content is bad. Activity is good! I love it. Go forth and make it happen!

Sort:  

I guess no one would mind if you would help to make it happen... Like I said above: no matter how much good content they produce, they have zero voting power.

Imo, “massive uprise of plankton and red fish, overwhelming this place with quality content, will have as a result that they will have to spread their 0.001 upvote even more. Loads of those quality posts will never earn a dime because all voters have no valuable vote.

There is no use in starting a revolution when no one has anything.
Maybe the über top guys don’t care, but there’s gotta be some ‘almost top-guys’ willing to offer their support. If not, it’s a lost case even before it started...

Haha! You are talking to someone who made 95 posts that didn't earn a payout when I was a minnow. I also made a hundred more that made a dime or less. That is what unknown Authors make. I am willing to support an effort, you should go easy on the violins we were minnows too. I've been doing this for 2 years.

We grew each other and we did self-vote when we had tiny accounts.

To be brutally clear, it is not my job to make sure you earn. However, if I see people actually trying, I support that.

Exactly. People don't see how stuff gets easier all the time. I uploaded 500+ videos on YouTube before I earned a single thing. You used to had to apply to become a partner.. People raise their standards haha

I’m very happy to hear you haven’t forgotten where you came from. Lots of people have.
I Can also only applaud that you’re supporting people who are really trying.
I didn’t mean to offend you. I’ve just come across a lot of people who did forget they were a small fish Too once.

And I accept your opinion that it is not your job to help anyone earn.
But that’s how we are different.
I arrived here 6 months ago and felt completely lost. Fortunately I ran into some people with a plan. And then the big rush started. So many people signing up, so many people that got frustrated because they were promised the world, and they got nothing.
It ended up with us putting most of our energy in trying to keep the ones that could actually do good here from leaving. 90% of our time goes to supporting the smaller fish, the ones that still need to find their way.

Sometimes I get really frustrated, because we have spent all our time and money trying to help others, while we could have been spending our time mingling with the big boys. That’s a choice we made, I made. As a result my posts get tens of votes and earn a buck.
But I guess it’s just in my nature.
I wouldn’t have been here if it weren’t for the support of fellow minnows. I think it’s only fair that I pay it forward, as a sign of gratitude and respect.

It took me 6 months to figure out this attitude is slowing me down. Only last week I realized that as long as i’m a small fish myself, the support I can give to others is very limited. To be able to support more people I need to grow my account as fast as possible. I feel ashamed that I can see no other way to do this than to play the same corrupt game everyone else is playing...
Organic growth is not going to be enough. So I closed my eyes and stepped into the world of self-voting and using bidbots again. I hate myself for doing it, but I truly hope the end will justify the means.

Because from where I’m standing, SteemIt is killing itself. If nothing changes, we will all be fcked. We’re probably fckef anyway, but At least I want to feel that I’ve tried to make things better for everyone. Especially for those thousands of newcomers who were lured here with big promises, only to find out that were all lies.

I’m probably fooling myself with these visions of change, a more fair and balanced platform for everyone. A platform on which the community is more important than greed. Fel free to think I’m being stupid and naive, but please don’t take that away from me. A girl’s gotta have hope, right?! Without hope, everything is lost...

I’m not blaming anyone for the choices he or she makes (naah, not entirely true, lol), it’s a free world.
I hope you don’t blame me for trying ;0)

You are a well fed fish hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44