You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Barking mad?

in #steem5 years ago

It goes beyond disappointment and frustration. We were 4 months away from RELEASE, but supposedly 5 weeks away from testing?

To suddenly drop this ball at this point (SMTs) I don't think I can pretend to believe that they are going to deliver them at all. I am not mad and rioting, I am mad at myself as the signs were all there and I chose to disregard them.

Sort:  

Somehow I'm not surprised because Steemit Inc has no reason whatsoever to fire anybody at this time. They're sitting on massive funds, around $20 million.

Well, it depends on what they were tasked with as they aren't a traditional industry working in an established frame.

How many employees did they have? If ten, each costing, say, $100,000 per year, then keeping them on the payroll will cost $1 million. That's 20 years of development work even with the price being this low. SMTs were a mere fourth months off according to the roadmap.

Here's my take on the stream..

Ned was taking cue's off other people in the content of the stream, and in which direction to go (levine was a prop) .
I saw ned as the salesman, and not the owner of the car lot...

Or should I say, IF he is the owner of the car lot, then he needs to get someone in, to run it properly. Very zuckerberg - esque....especially after watching his various presentations and interviews on you tube yesterday, while making my hitler you tube parody.
Zero clarity in his own product. Zero conviction.

I know 15 yr old market stall traders, with more 'nous' than he exhibited...

And as for raising the possibility of dropping steemit ?
Maybe not a possibility - maybe it was introducing the reality into peoples consciousness.

Steeminc has other agenda's than a social media platform, I think... (maybe that was just the hook to get the concept launched?)
The social media side of it, as far as steeminc. is concerned, is becoming apparent that it's totally irrelevant now, imo.

I'm not even saying that's a bad thing per se. ( I don't know).

I am saying it's really crappy for the users who came here purely from the position of using it as a social media platform, one where you could build a presence, and make some money from speaking your truth.

Yeah, he came off as lost, unsure, nervous, with a lack of direction or conviction. I've known that for a while and I choose to question my own perception instead of listening to it.

Mostly, I am frustrated with myself.

Here is how it went in my head...

Aren't we supposed to be decentralized? Me: Oh well

Ned doesn't seem very driven compared to other CEOs I've known... Me: Maybe he'll get better at it.

They haven't delivered on many projects and does not seem concerned about Investors. Me: I'll give him another chance.

Mostly though... I wrote it off to everything in crypto sucks.

Anyway, in the long run it might turn out fine, but short term, I expect things to get worse before they get better. But, Maybe I'm wrong.

I will expect to see a lot of dapps be the next to drop off.

Ned doesn't seem very driven compared to other CEOs I've known... Me: Maybe he'll get better at it.

...the thing I see with this 'techy world' - CEO's just appear.
In the real world CEO's emerge from years of work and experience in the real world, before being launched into the position.
(and when I heard ned mention his dad was a wall street banker on one of his interviews - talk about alarm bells! lol)
'get better at it', is wishful thinking... normally, as a ceo, you already have the tools from years of experience to be 'good at it' when you take up the position..

They haven't delivered on many projects and does not seem concerned about Investors. Me: I'll give him another chance.

As a total techy dunce, it was all over my head, so I can't really say - but I was aware of the 'just coming', smt things, that never arrived.
( I have to read instructions every morning in how to use my keys to log into steemit! Okay, not that bad, but you get the idea! lol)

I have absolutely no idea how this will turn out - keep me informed will ya? lol

We were 4 months away from RELEASE, but supposedly 5 weeks away from testing?

It seems a 'bit suspect' doesn't it? New information came to light?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73