Random Thoughts on the Steem Price, Posting and Power Ups and Downs.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Two weeks ago I posted the picture above to illustrate how I thought the Steem Price would evolve.  How am I doing?  (Charts are so boring)

I don't worry about the current price when I post.  The reason the price doesn't matter to me is that I Power Up my "earnings".  Despite the payouts being shown on the interface in US dollars what I am competing for is "stake in the reward pool".  I have had articles that displayed a higher payout or a lower one, but what I care about is the number of Steem that hit my wallet after the post.  I have a difficult time picking out which Steem in my wallet were earned at .07 cents and those that were earned at $1.50.  I know there was a lot less competition when the price was .07 cents, hence although the dollar amounts shown on the post didn't look as fun, the number of Steem that went in my wallet was actually higher.  ;)

If you are on a steady power down, then the daily price would matter more.  So, I guess the moral of the story is there are different user-stories happening out there in SteemIt, and that is a good thing.

In some ways the Steem economy works like any economy, some people are earning and saving, others are earning and spending, some are earning and investing.  This is a healthy economy.  Also, don't feel bad for customizing Steem to fit your current needs and adjust when the time comes to take a different approach.  

There was a battle cry from some witnesses and investors being upset the "bloggers" were powering down all of their rewards.  I find this absolutely laughable since the "miners" and "founders" continued a steady power down from $4+ to before they started to worry about their own actions at about .15 cents.  The bloggers are the miners of Steem.  It is no different that someone who "mines" and then sells the tokens that they mine afterward.  So, use SteemIt and the resulting earned Steem  to improve your life however that may look.  It is the spenders that keep the economy moving, and nobody else's needs match your own.  Money in any shape is a tool to make life easier.  That is all.  It isn't good or bad, it is a tool.  We don't all need the same tools, the same way at the same time.  



Steem On, Steem On,  Steem until your dreams come true.  (Sang in Steven Taylor's voice)  



Sort:  

We all have different needs. This is what makes a community. Well expressed.

Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. I am glad the point came across.

I have more fun posting things people actually read, albeit only a few people, but that's a HELL OF ALOT more than what my own friends and family on FB did! I'm certain that my feed has been blocked on their pages because they don't want to hear about the "doom and gloom" of the world. Or how they should be diversifying by purchasing metals and some crypto.

I don't pay attention to steems price, i basically just ise it as a Social Media platform and throw price to the wind. Everything i earn i just keep powering up. I dont plan on powering down for quite some time.

I try to use SteemIt naturally like a social media platform. Each post is not a master piece, it is just a post. I am not an author or a wanna be author, I am just the end-user of a social media platform who may have something interesting to say from time to time.

SteemIt has actually made it worth checking up on my social media account. I never did have anything more than my FaceBook account, which I only kept active to stay in touch with my Navy buddies and family memebers who live on the other side of the world. All of that other crap out there, twitter, snap, insta, etc..., doesn't interest me. I don't even have the FB app on my phone anymore. I have my FB account bookmarked and visit it that way every other week. I like being distant from all that. SteemIt brings something new and unique back into my life. It's quite a pleasant change.

Wow, really nice testamony.

@whatsup, You have a very good talent and post, pleas upvote my post,thanks

Great article. Thank you. Yes, "Money in any shape is a tool...." It's energy. constantly coming in and going out like the ocean's tides.... It's in constant flow and we must keep it flowing.

I like the ocean comparison. :)

Thank you :)

Well written and made me realize some things I never thought about. Enjoyed reading it Steem On!

Excellent. This comment is what makes it feel good. My post made you think. ;) That is a good as the Steem it may earn. Thank you for the comment.

Great article @whatsup I still try to do all of my blogs @100 % I am more concerned with the steem power. Not to for sure if this is the right approach or not still being fairly new to steem it. I have noticed that the more power the higher payouts. Thanks for the article. Full steem ahead.

One thing to consider is Steem Backed Dollars have been trending above a dollar, so by declining to earn any... You are leaving some of your potential earnings on the table. I take the 50/50 and power up my SBD as I go along. Just a thought, as you should customize the Steem however you want to receive it.

Thanks for the advice

Very good post :)

great article that shows the diversity of the community, and makes me wonder what I should do going forward. food for thought!

Awesome. If I made you think, I am doing my job. :)

you are certainly doing a very fine job, keep up the great work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57