Is Ned Breaking Bad?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

About a month ago someone noticed Ned's account started a power down.

In the last day I've seen a couple of posts talking about Ned's transfers.

It strikes me that Ned can't win.

One day people are mad that Ned has too much stake

Now some people are mad that Ned is powering down and making transfers with his stake.

We are talking about his own stake not SteemIt, Inc's. stake.

How is it anyone's business?

In publicly traded companies, the top five salaries have to be reported and stock sales are tracked.  

Even there CEOs are not required to let anyone know WHY or what they do with it.

Yet, I thought most here didn't like that set up and regulations that go along with it.  

The way I see it is his stake is his stake just like everyone else's and we have a choice invest in Steem or not based on how much you think he influences the price.

I just don't see how anyone feels the right to demand answers.

If something is happening in the community, everybody wonders why Ned doesn't fix it.

If Ned tries to get involved in something, a bunch of other people consider it interference or picking the winners.

If he communicates he is mocked, if he doesn't he is criticized.

 Ned might be buying a boat, investing, wanting to frolic around the world with his Steem riches, he could be making a deal that is good for Steem, he might be buying a house, or having plastic surgery or hair transplants.  Buying a race car or making a charity donation.   He could be trying to slide money out and slip out the back door.  He could be paying off the bad gambling debts of a drunk step-dad for the sake of his ill, codependent Mother.  (totally fictional guessing)  He might be funding Dan's Steem 2.o  (That is my favorite story so far)

If he buys something cool I hope he shares some pictures.

I don't know how any of this is supposed to work in Crypto Companies, and it occured to me very few do.  He is among a very small group of leaders who are each breaking ground in a new field.  

I have mixed feelings about Ned, but it occured to me today, I would not want to wear his shoes.

In any case, because I see distribution (lack of distribution) as our biggest issue  - I am not sad if Ned sells or gives away part of his stake.  If he is breaking bad in some way, I hope it is fun and entertaining!   

I was a bit offended on his behalf watching minnows with almost no stake make angry comments and demanding answers.

I think some of you are taking this co-ownership thing a bit too seriously.  

In any case as a Steem public figure, people are going to talk, and not all of it is going to be good.  I get it.

So, let's talk about it.

What are your thoughts and wild guesses?

@whatsup

Sort:  

Agreed entirely. Ned happens to be a public figure in the world of Steemit, so all he has to do is simply STAND THERE and the rotten tomatoes and simpering sycophants appear in spades.

"Blah, blah, blah, this and that is wrong with Steemit, and why doesn't @ned DO something and blah, blah, blah...."

Translation: "I was talked into creating a Steemit account to make money and it's turning out to be a LOT harder than I thought and I need someone to BLAME because I don't have a new Lambo yet, boo-hoo-hoo..."

I think a lot of people get their jollies simply from watching the activities of large stake holders and then complaining about their actions. Sure, Ned is a "principal" of Steemit. Such people get watched a lot... and usually get judged unfairly.

But Ned doesn't "owe" anyone — least of all a whiny minnow — anything. He's just as free to do with his stake as anyone else...

I think you are way off calling out the minnows, some of them have worked rather hard to get up there quite a bit. In doing such they've held their investment to their advantage, if things were going to fall through the floor at least they deserve adequate time to withdraw that to which they have worked very hard to accomplish thus far.

If I were "calling out minnows," I'd also be calling out myself, FWIW.

What I'm calling out are the pervasive voices of many who come here, post a couple of dozen times and then start to look for "someone to blame" when there's not $100's rolling in from their posts.

I'm calling out all the people who thought it was "a good idea" to go all over the place and tell people to "Come to Steemit!" while using Jeff Berwick's now infamous $30,000 post as a "fishing lure." That's as dumb/misleading as pointing at Bill Gates' billions as a good reason why you should work for Microsoft.

Is Ned up to some sketchy things? Who knows... Is he serving his own interests? Hells to the yeah. Is he going to act in a way to render his stake worth zero? Not unless he's clinically insane, I'm going to guess. Am I an apologist for Ned? Nope. I just remember back when I worked at Dell, Michael (Dell) got blamed for everything from a broken coffeemaker to faulty code...was that a "right" thing? Not really... but perhaps the basics of human nature.

....not to mention your comment about minnows reeks of arrogance.

No offense meant, and I wasn't calling you out; I was calling out "relative newcomers who are all butthurt because Steemit hasn't turned out to be a money-for-nothing cash grab."

I see your posts all over the place, so clearly you're not part of that group...

I've seen newcomers come here after I joined going gangbusters on here....nope most are not putting out quality content they are gaming the system. They've just found the loop holes and happen to be computer savvy. I think that's what frustrates a lot of the new comers who want to play somewhat by the rules. I didn't have any high hopes or ambitions when I got talked into coming here so it's a little hard to be frustrated with something
you weren't expecting anyway. My motto was if it sounded to good to be true
it probably was....and it turned out exactly that. Basically because the rules aren't spelled out like they should be, that's another regulatory no no they'll get hit with if crypto's get regulated. They'll have to explain to people exactly what one vote is worth, that if your votes don't add up to one whole cents they get dusted and any post that don't make ten cents gets burned. Like any business where money is transacted people have a right to know exactly how it operates.

Haha, so true. I really felt mad reading the comments.

I hope somebody powers me up so that I can get to my medical goals fast before it is too late. Just support our community, it is the best we can do than do rumors that will not resolve anything. Goodness gracious.

A lot of people expect more from him in terms of management at STINC, since they are getting nothing they take it out on whatever he does.

Agreed. I think in general Ned just has to do whatever Ned is going to do and hopefully we can all collectively drive this ship towards mass adoption and progress... or over the cliff... or into another lane and crash... or to the moon... :)

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 36

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Do you like the show? I've never seen it.

I am pasting my response from bernie post here.....


@ned can do with his money what he wants...but he is the CEO of STINC in addition to being a token holder.

Needless to say CEO selling off his share of tokens is a signal , to say the least.

Words are words but actions have much more weight .Now I am not saying to hit the panic button and lose all confidence but there is a number where the % sell of by CEO signals low confidence in the project ,

are we there yet ? probably not
does @ned selling his token is very much same as other token holders? it is not.

Addition:
Are
People are unnecessarily harsh with @ned?

Quite a lot of times. ..

Also ..a little bit of communication from him can easily avoid any such sepculation..

Example :
Glad to annunce our partnership with xyz company for abc project and i welcome their @account on Steemit...

I agree with this as well. I do think they are trying harder.

yes, communication has improved but certain critical things still need to addressed.

  1. Official timeline for SMT milestones.
  2. Any partnerships with outside firms to either co-develop or co-launch SMTs

I think it would benefit them, but I don't think they HAVE to address it. :)

True , they don't HAVE to do any of it , it's mostly best practice stuff...

Words are words but actions have much more weight.



If he issued a statement it'd imply he owes us explanations, and since words aren't actions a lot of people wouldn't believe him anyway.

Nice post - @ned has a huge share of Steem and he probably needs some throwing around money.
what he does with his Steem is his business and shouldn't be seen as a bad thing.
As implied in this post, Poor guy is damned if he does or damned if he doesn't.

What we do know is he is committed, intelligent, delivered us Steem/Steemit that we love; and is hiring new staff.

If I had any critisim at all it would be if he could share more about the challenges he is facing, so we can all get behind him.

This was in regard of his statement (below) and me juxtaposing this statement against the cashing out event.

Haha, there is a lot of truth in that.

Steem remains a great proposition, regardless of the size of Ned's whale stake. This is not Litecoin, where Charlie Lee bailing out coincides with a realization that Litecoin itself is outgunned on all sides by multiple other coins that do the same thing.

I expect Ned just needs the cash. The things young men get up to with cash are myriad, and usually embarrassing.

But since you suggest he's breaking bad, maybe he's starting a meth lab. :)

The things young men get up to with cash are myriad, and usually embarrassing.

++

??

I just hope he doesn't leave, or if he does leave he doesn't do it in a situation to leave us in a lurch. I think that's what people are worried about. I can't imagine anything good could happen from a change of ownership right now, and I've seen a few ships sink.

I honestly think I'd really love to hear him say something like. "Hey guys, I'm not going anywhere and everything is on the up-and-up.... there were just a few expenses that needed to be paid." I think it would make people feel a bit better.

He did make a very positive statement

Yeah but somebody on SteemSpeak said they "knew something". You know?

knew something..as in...what's the implication ?

I've heard the rumors, but I have been completely unable to obtain a reasonable source. I'm inclined to take it with a grain of salt.

rumors of @ned leaving ?

He wants to build a super villain lair with blackjack and prostitutes for the steem convention.

since it's a tech fest....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81