Death By a Thousand Paper Cuts

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

As I finished a project this evening I considered topics to write about on SteemIt.  I thought about my passive-aggressive picture post from earlier today, and I felt a bit of ashamed of myself.  

Then I had the thought that created a paradigm shift for me.  

"I don't want to put much effort into it right now."

Many years ago I made a commitment to do things I feel proud of and act in ways that make me grow and strive to be better.

I did some soul searching and came to realization that I don't tell people about SteemIt, because I find it embarrassing.  

As I watch Bernie flag Seablue for absolutely no reason, and the community stand by and watch, I feel uneasy.  You maybe you don't know @seablue is a really nice guy, he works hard and he even bought some of his stake of steem on market unlike most of the people here.  
Many people have told me that Bernie is actually a really nice person, and I don't doubt that in a different environment that is probably true.  I kind of think of him as the kid that doesn't know how to stop giving "Wet Willys".  I am not blaming him for the state of the platform.  In this case he is just an easy example to point at.  It isn't about bernie or even seablue, it just isn't something that makes me feel good about being a part of.  

Yes, I believe in Freedom.  Yes, I believe each person has the right to do what he wants with his stake.  

The whole thing is just an experiment.

Smooth and Abit can flag away someone else's stake without the courtesy of explaining what and why they are doing.   It's okay it is just an experiment. 

Anyway, with a whole lot of things I don't feel good about I was reminded of another experiment.  Milgram Experiment.

I know this could be taken as  melodramatic.  At the end of the day, this just isn't feeling fun.

 Yes, I believe in Freedom.  Yes, I believe each person has the right to do what he wants with his stake.   

I feel the need to take a break for a while.  With the states cracking down on Crypto, I am not sure there is a point in pushing through my personal funk with SteemIt.

Please write from the moon.


http://www.apa.org/research/action/order.aspx

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milgram_experiment






Sort:  

I read both your links. That was a very famous experiment.

I'd like to think I would have been one of those that refused to go along with the orders of authority. One day I might get that chance to prove myself.

I really appreciate your presence here on Steemit. Thanks for asking the 'hard questions' ;-)

Haha ! Death By A Thousand Paper Cuts !! Now thats a slow and painful way to go !! I wouldnt wish that on anybody !😂😂😂

@whatsup, I can't say as how I blame you for having those feelings. I just spent the morning yanking everything I had there out of Poloniex and into a neutral wallet "far far away." Left me feeling slightly grumpy. I love the state of Washington, but now the "freedom" we were given when they legalized weed is being taken away again because cryptos presented a "loophole" through which part of the pot industry was evading fees and taxes.

:head:desk:

Seems to me that part of the "problem" we have on Steemit is caused by a small group of very early adopters making tens or even hundreds of thousands of dollars here, and acting all "protectionist" about maintaining a status quo that simply doesn't exist anymore...

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.26 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53