SteemIt Fam...I would like to use my "ONE TIME" to ask for your support...

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

SteemIt Community...

I would like to use my one time and come to you for assistance

First off, I am okay...just in a difficult spot. Allow me to explain in a way that hopefully resonates with others so that some value can be extracted from this post and/or future posts and it's not just a plea for up-votes.

As some of you may have noticed, I have been less active on here recently and powering down my steem. The main reason for that was because I decided to take a life risk and accept a job 3,000 miles away, quite literally going coast to coast, with no relocation assistance or guarantee of it working out.

As you can imagine, the risk did not pay off, the job was an bad fit (I will not go into much direct detail because I believe in not burning bridges), and I am struggling financially this month because of it.

I spent THOUSANDS of dollars and committed my name to a lease, trusting this individual over several skype interviews. As it turns out, I grinded 16 hours a day for nearly two months straight to meet their CHANGED scope/deadline and got 90% of the way there. (I initially quoted 3-4 months for a full working plan that included testing, which, for a one man team, is an aggressive timeline in itself).

I consider this a success, feel like a failure, and taken advantage of...let alone the financial distress it has caused.

I've found peace in the fact that I can take away many lessons from this "adventure," but I am scraping by as I cold call every potential job posting that exists in the area. Unfortunately, summer is coming to a close and as tourist season slows down here, so does the job market.

I've been traveling to all nearby and more popular cities for interviews, even being as aggressive as walking into professional businesses with my resume without an appointment (which have produced some interesting and sometimes funny/awkward stories btw).

I've been challenged before by drastic life altering events, but the stress has reached a peak. As I sit here, typing out this post, I'm almost disgusted in myself. There are many who are much worse off facing terrible diseases, oppression, the list can go on and on and I don't want to leave anyone or thing out.

At this point in time, I am looking to the community to buy time. Because this happened so close to the end of the month and there was no "relocation assistance" involved (aka I spent nearly all of my savings to get out here) I am struggling to pay my bills, mainly rent and gas to get to interviews. (I can work with the bank, but not with housing and as stated earlier, I am in a tourist town, not a city, so commuting to interviews is crushing especially with gas on the rise).

I know many on this site are all about freedom and will tell me to F the rent and F the banks. I hope that those same people can appreciate my point of view in that I feel that I took the risk, I am responsible for the commitments, and I feel obligated to meet them.

And believe me, I see and even FEEL the irony in that last statement.

What of value can I provide in return for a few clicks of the mouse to buy me a little time?

I am going to start posting daily and linking back to this post. I will do my best, documenting how I will get myself out of this mess, lessons learned, my personal vulnerabilities (I think this post is a good start to that), how things are going, and many other things...

Mainly, I will be doing my best to create a guide as to how to use the resources around you to get yourself out of a terrible situation, 3K miles away from anyone you know when shit hits the fan

Maybe it will help someone in the future. Maybe it helps me with up-votes. Maybe it gets ignored. Maybe it will allow me to clear my head and stay focused on getting myself out of this mess. Maybe it does all of those things. Maybe it does none of those things.

Hopefully it's the former and not the latter.

This is by far the most vulnerable thing I've ever written and it terrifies me to even hit post.

That's all for now. Until tomorrow, thank you for reading...

Sort:  

Yes, it is good one. all the best . I also post every day & love to keep touch with new steemian everyday. Thanks @wetthebeak

Tough breaks for sure. Looking forward to reading your follow-up posts.

appreciate the read and vote, hope to deliver some value to others

Congratulations @wetthebeak! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

sending you a tip brother @cnts :]

very kind of you, thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95