Quality of content on Steem?

in #steem7 years ago

Quick poll: I haven't been spending a huge amount of time here lately, but whats the general consensus on both the quality and quantity of content on the platform lately? As hard as it is, try to be objective....

Sort:  

Quantity has been fairly low recently, it's definitely picking up now with excitement about the price/platform.
Quality is a mixed bag, but I think that's a good thing. Steemit is still finding its identity and is being pulled in multiple directions, from long form blogging, to short social media, memes, Instagram style photos. Not to mention the truly international community. People need to know this is a platform for everyone and every use.
Quality is so subjective. I'm happy with the entertainment, enthusiasm, and engagement.

Agreed that quality is subjective but there are objective metrics to gauge if a platform is growing in a healthy way such that both content creators and consumers have found a sustainable value exchange equation that can be scaled up (Some metrics include: Daily / Weekly engagement, time spent on platform, retention by cohort, you know, all your typical VC stuff... :)) It's okay if the numbers are small if the intensity is high and long-lasting

Oh absolutely. I'm sure someone has a much better handle on those "under the hood" numbers, I just have gut feeling and anecdotal observations!
I saw a new member in Steemit chat the other day trying to figure out how they had earned some Steem in their wallet without ever having posted. One of the veterans pointed out that it had come from an upvote on one of their comments. There was a lightbulb moment when the new member realized that commenting made them an "author." They didn't have to craft a blog post to participate in the system and be rewarded.
It'll be pretty cool to see light bulbs clicking on all over the place, but we're not there quite yet.
If you haven't been following recent communications, it's also worth noting the Steemit team is working to get community features out ASAP. Possibly by the end of Q2. I believe these will be crucial in raising all the metrics you mentioned!

Hopefully we see a lot of quality content. Having been active now for almost a week, it tends to self moderate, the stuff that isn't 'quality' doesn't tend to get up voted / looked at, but then again as stated quality is subjective.

I think the best thing that can happen is getting quality content in, and retaining those who produce it. Having said that, there's a niche for everything!

Well that's a loaded question.

It really depends on the mood of the voter at the time they are voting. Some times well written researched articles can earn rewards and sometimes a simple meme will get some big love.
And of course vice versa.

So I suggest suggest do write what you want and hopefully everyone will want to read and vote it.

I'm new . like to hear from the rest here before me. So far, whatever little time I have seen here are things of interest to me and I would give a 5 out of 10 - according to my subjective observation

Note: I'm fairly new to the community. From browsing through various content, I would say quality is lower than what I would have expected originally. Though I'm believing that these type of community based blockchain applications will be the future and therefore willing to continue following this closely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72