You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ⏺Steemit price crashing, what now?

in #steem7 years ago

Personally I don't even know why people would stop using steemit when the price is down. That doesn't affect anything. You still get the same steem profits if I'm not mistaken.

I totally agree that people always act on a whim. Those who stick to the platform, or most of time to anything, are those who prosper. The reason I'm worried about not getting votes at this time, is that I believe now is the time when one needs to put work in, because the great times are coming. Those who will gain now, will have an upper hand in the future. But the sad truth seems to be that I get less and less upvotes all the time. Luckily I found minnow support at least so I can still keep growing my reputation, because that is what I am currently interested about.

I don't mind putting work into it, but at the same time it is disheartening to see people post "a funny picture" copypasted from the internet, earning more than I do with my own quality reasoning on investments and financial stuff.

Anyway, I'm trying to find new people to interact with, who have similar interests here. That is the point of steemit anyway. But I can't lie, the profits are a big plus when it comes to steemit and hope to some day be able to make something for the time I invest into the community.

Sort:  

All those factors link into one another. By having a good reputation, you are more respected. People take you more seriously, they take your content more seriously. Upvotes start to rise and so does pay.

If you want to see results, you need to take MASSIVE action. Like Grant Cardone would say, you need to 10X your actions. Massive action means massive results.

Instead of hoping and praying for more upvotes (which will be pretty much useless to be blunt about it), go and get your name out there.

I will challenge you. If you are up for it. Go and make 100+ comments per day for the next 7 days. Take record of all your current factors. How many upvotes you get on average.. Your amount of followers.. Your retention rate.. etc.

After the 7 days, if you still haven't expanded, and gotten more respect from people, then we talk :)

Sure, 100+ comments per day could do that, but it could also be seen as spam. Unless I would really concentrate on what I'm writing each time. But it's not only that I can't write that many, it is also that I don't find so many posts that I enjoy reading.

I try to keep up with as much of the investment posts I find, which are quality and unique to some extent at least. However, I just don't find them always. Part of it is probably the way steem works but much of it is the plague of what I consider spam or unquality posts.

I enjoy reading quality posts such as those you write, but finding people with constant quality or constantly interesting topics is hard. Therefore, I only follow a bit over 30 people so far. And I've been dropping some people out who I followed in the beginning, but who didn't really live up to my expectations or started spamming my feed in a way or another.

Anyway, maybe I should try something like: comment 20 times per day at least. But then again, usually when I comment I want to also upvote the persons post and I can only sustain 10 votes a day. I've been trying to do that more or less. During the weekends I'm more busy usually so I don't have as much time.

They don't have to be spam. Spammy comments can be seen from a mile away. I know a hand full of people (including myself) who do 100+ per day, and they are genuine comments. The point is to engage with as many different people as possible, to get as much exposure possible in the beginning.

I make an assertive effort to not be spammy. As a matter of fact, I strive to always right the most quality comment that I can.

But I get what you are saying. You are really focusing quite a lot on quality! Which is awesome.

I try not to link my upvoting with my commenting. I only upvote on the posts that I think deserve it (even though it's only 10 cents LOL!). The rest of them, I see it as me doing my part.

It's sort of like the debate between deciding whether to reward a homeless man for begging.. I have come to the conclusion that if I have the money to give, then I do. It doesn't matter what they do with it, it's about the concept of giving that will set you up to be bulletproof :)

Sure, I also don't reward people with bad post or wrong information even if I comment that they didn't consider this or that. Or sometimes the post isn't bad, but it just doesn't have the correct information, in which case I might comment something hopefully constructive, but I don't upvote it.

Also sometimes if something already has +$100, I might comment, but not up vote because no one cares about my +$0.01 at that point, but most of the time I still do up vote. Anyway, I'd rather up vote people's posts that don't have a lot of up votes or at least not 100 worth.

So yeah, most of the time when I take my time to comment on something I already consider it a good post and therefore up vote it also. Sometimes that isn't the case.

Yeah, I get you.

As much as the $ amount a post has made is important, I care just as much about the quantity of the upvotes. Scrapping the concept completely of the votes being worth anything to begin with, the amount that you are getting on a post means a lot. It means people are enjoying your content :)

But yeah I get was you're saying. If you have a smaller upvote, it also really won't make much of a difference on a big post. Besides the fact that after a certain amount, those people don't really even care anymore about how many votes it's getting :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57694.11
ETH 2446.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38