A Poem About Steem

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

There’s this exciting, new platform called Steem
That has led thousands of writers to dream
For now their content can earn money
Especially if they tag it: “Funny”
And if you’re a girl travelling in Tahiti
You’ve basically grown a mon-ey tree
Or if you can write a get-rich-quick piece
The size of your wallet will quickly increase

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

But if you’re a true writer with a desk
With beautiful composition: Hemingway-esque
You can publish your story and wait
For the Steem to rush past the floodgate
But don’t hold your breath for too long
Because a travelling blogger just bought a sarong!
And that has all of the upvoters’ attention
You’ll be lucky to get even one mention

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This poem may be a tad pessimistic
And I have no proof; I have no statistic
Anecdotally, this is what I have discovered
I don’t think it’s shocking, what’s being uncovered
But I’m optimistic quality will win in the end
Rewarding pieces that are artistically penned
Which means plagiarism, nonsense and bullshit will lose
It’s up to you Steem community…what do you choose?

#funny #writing #steemit #author

Sort:  

How come you are double posting everything??

Hi gardenlady,

I'm relatively new to Steem, and I'm hoping to have my pieces discovered under multiple themes. To my understanding, you can't do multiple tags without double posting, correct? I apologize if this goes against best practices! I'm still learning!

No problem! You don't need to double post. Once you post something under one tag, you can go back to that post and Edit and add some hashtags that relate to what you posted. In this case, you tagged steem as your first tag. now go back and edit and you could add at the bottom of your post #funny #poems #poetry #original or whatever else you think relates. This way you are bound to be seen by more posters.

Thanks for the tip! I will no longer ambush readers with double posts! Much appreciated!

Did you like the poem, though? ;)

the first tag does seem to have more effect at times...

@wadepaterson the poem is pretty dope also.
I think my cousin told me best, that if you listen to Simon and Garfunkel poems, they deal with the subtle. I think touching on the topic while leaving the audience to the imagination is a true art-form. Welcome to STEEM!!!!

Cheers @screenplaydan - I appreciate the comment and it's also good to know about the first tag having a greater significance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38