The value of vests keeps shifting!

in #steem6 years ago

Wednesday Wealth

Vests represent the "voting power" you have...

The more STEEM you have powered up, the more voting power you will have. However the actual value of your vote however depends on two things completely out of your control!

Total number of vests

If a lot of people power up or more people have accounts, your relative voting power falls! Since I started here almost a year ago, I have seen my 100% vote value drop from $ 0.43 to$ 0.13 and now back up to $ 0.15! I completely overlooked the fact that even if STEEM appreciates, the vests will suffer heavy inflation! If I wanted to keep up with "vote inflation" I should have tripled the money I put into STEEM or be more successful: I failed on both counts :[

the dollar value of STEEM

The higher the price of STEEM, the higher the value of your vote! Nice an easy!

TL;DR

The value of your vote depends on your *relative *voting power and the STEEM price. Over time the voting pool expands and there is a huge inflation, but hopefully this will be offset by a sharp rise in the price of STEEM!

What do you think about the "vote inflation"? Do you care?

Sort:  

Your vote value dropped from0.43 to 0.13 because the price of steem dropped from $6 to $1.60.

The amount of steem power/sbd rewards you received for both votes were the same, the value in dollars has changed.

Previous price swings seem to have less effect. This is btw roughly the price at which I bought my STEEM.

SBD has inflated way more than vests. There were 3,500,000 sbd when I started in July 2017 but now there are over 15,000,000 sbd.

Still, doesn't the vest inflation bother you more? It bothers me because that means my potential growth really tapers off quit briskly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58