You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal: Change Up and Downvotes to bids

in #steem5 years ago

I haven't read the comments yet, but I do find the idea intriguing. One issue with the bid process you describe in part, is that say you think a post has a higher/lower value than you have the SP to deliver. What does your bid mean in that context? What weight is your bid given? You are able to cast 10 100VP votes per day. Are your bids 100% votes, or 25% votes, such as I have long delivered, or .001% votes as some deliver? I don't think this is an insoluble question, just one that requires greater thought before it is more than a idea, and capable of being an actual proposal.

Thanks!

Sort:  

Actually, the system I am proposing would not be too different from what we have now, you got votes which are worth a certain quantity of vests depending on the vests and VP you got and the % you vote with.

The difference is that this vote will evolve around a fixed point (the value you set).
Meaning, if the value of the post is under the value you set, your vote will contribute to add more and if the value of the post is above, it will remove from it.

So, that basically renders the algorithm that will calculate VP deployed per post utterly incalculable, given that you vote on more than one post and others vote on those posts. The change in payout value will change on each post and change the calculation of how much VP to assign to that post. It will do this simultaneously on all the posts you vote. Each assignment of VP will then change how much VP you have available for each vote, and then have to change again on all posts every time someone else votes.

Not even the best quantum computer in the world can do this. It's basically an insoluble mathematical problem.

Nono, the quantity of % of VP you add to it will stay the same always. The thing that changes is the actual value of the post itself.

The quantity of VP is not stable. Every vote I cast at 25% VP changes the value of every other vote I cast, because my VP is depleted as I vote, and recharges when I don't. It's not possible for VP to remain the same when it is depleted to vote.

It seems you envision the VP slider eliminated. Not sure I like the idea of only being able to vote at a level set at the factory. I settled on 25% because that best fits how I use Steem, allowing my VP to recharge nominally to keep my votes relatively equally valuable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56796.26
ETH 2497.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23