You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The end of the War - Haejin & FulltimeGeek

in #steem6 years ago

I can appreciate how you feel. I strongly disagree with this statement however:

"But what I do know is that this, this little war, has not helped anyone..."

Every time whales flag each other, minnows get more rewards. The upvotes whales give themselves draw from the rewards pool that we all draw rewards from. They get the bulk - over 90% - of rewards. When they flag each other they return those rewards to the pool, where minnows then get a larger share than they otherwise would have.

That makes me happy.

Just sayin'...

I would like to add another humanizing fact about @haejin. I was flagged in a discussion by some heavy hitters (compared to me) whose flags disappeared my comments. I am undeterred by flagging, and continued to be flagged for my views.

@haejin, despite my never having followed him, never even once upvoted him, countered all the flags. Most important to me was that my comments became visible, and folks were able to read the discussion the flaggots tried to conceal.

I reckon that was a thoughtful and considerate act that prevented censorship, and enabled free speech on Steemit. In the interest of full disclosure, I still don't follow @haejin, nor have I ever cast a vote for him. This isn't some protest on my part. I'm just not interested in my personal wealth, and so do not spend my attention on the content he produces, which is geared towards investors.

tl;dr Whales flagging each other is good for minnows, because it increases the rewards we receive.

Thanks!

Sort:  

If Haejin flags Fulltimegeek, Fulltimegeek can flag him
back and it will send rewards back to the pool. Or he
could simply reward someone instead of flagging him.

Why war, when you think about it, it makes no sense.
Flagging depletes Mana (SP) that can be used for good.

The exact same advice goes to Haejin, why flag FTG back
when you could upvote one of your comments and profit?

I too have benefited from the actions of both Haejin, and
Fulltimegeek, and it hurts me to see them fight for nothing.

I should note that I also feel I have benefited at least indirectly from @fulltimegeek's SOG initiative. I continue to cite that example of how such moderate delegations enormously improved the benefits of the platform to minnows, without jeopardizing the delegated stake.

Not all large stakeholders only seek their ROI, and @fulltimegeek is one of the large stakeholders that has sought to employ their stake to benefit the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59026.89
ETH 2655.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50